Posted by: Donna Cunningham | April 6, 2009

Taming Transiting Saturn

Donna Says: A couple of years back, I happened onto a blog created by astrologer and Jungian therapist, Elizabeth Spring.  I was so taken by her wise, insightful, and heartfelt writing that I sent her a fan letter and have followed the evolution of her work since.  She has recently published an excellent book, North Node Astrology: Rediscovering your Life Direction and Soul Purpose. It’s clear and  readable for students at any level of astrology. The following is an excerpt, reprinted here with her permission.

                                                              ©2008 by Elizabeth Spring, M.A.

It has often been said that under strong Saturn transits one can choose between exhaustion and depression—some choice! It implies that because Saturn is often about doing hard work in the real world that exhaustion is the better choice— indicating as Mark Twain once said: “It is better to wear out than to rust out.”  It doesn’t need to be so tiring. So what are the tools needed to successfully navigate Saturnian waters?  Here are a few ideas:

1-Be Discerning. You are at a time now when you understand things you didn’t understand even last year. Use your new wisdom to make wise choices based on clarity of intention. Dream into your future and discern the path through the woods. Here is where the quotes: “Know thyself” and “Nothing in Excess” become relevant. At these times there is a necessity to pull back from the excesses of your younger years and to know what you can and cannot do.

2-Take Heart. Find ways to reach out to others and be humble enough to ask for advice. If your marriage is in trouble, ask yourself the questions: Is the relationship the true source of dissatisfaction, or is it the repository of my own misery? How much am I projecting my insecurities onto my partner, and not taking responsibility or even listening ‘with heart’?

 3-Go Deeper. Superficial “all or nothing” solutions can be a quick fix and Saturn doesn’t like quick fixes. No quick decisions: instead, hold the tension of the opposites and conflicts within yourself till you see the emergence of a new idea. Then, and only then, is it time to stretch beyond your comfort zones to new places of thought and action. As was said so many years ago:

                     “Dig deep; the water–goodness–is down there.  And as long as you keep digging it will keep bubbling up.”     Marcus Antoninis

 4-Take Action. Saturn ultimately rewards those that act and depresses those who procrastinate. In ancient texts, Saturn was sometimes seen as a devil who made a hand signal that said: “All that you see, is all there is.” That’s the devil’s lie.  Prove him wrong.                                                          

fathertime-a2d

So Saturn can be seen as the spirit of Father Time, passing through our lives at these transits and “Returns” in the way Scrooge experienced his encounter with the Spirits of the past, present, and future.  The purpose of these visits wasn’t to give Scrooge a bad case of nerves, but to give him a second chance at life.  He saw himself differently; he grieved, he tried denying and avoiding, but ultimately he acted, and propelled himself–just in time–into his new life.

Note: You can see another article by Elizabeth on this blog here: Fool’s Gold—the Slippery Slope of the South Node

About the author: Elizabeth Spring, MA is a counseling astrologer and psychotherapist with a background in the work of Carl Jung. Her first book, North Node Astrology: Rediscovering Your Life Direction and Soul Purpose focuses both on helping you navigate life transits as well as understanding your Nodes by sign and house. Book excerpts, table of contents, and reviews can be read on Amazon.com at Amazon.com: North Node Astrology: Rediscovering Your Life Direction and Soul Purpose: Elizabeth Spring M.A.: Books. It can also be purchased on: www.elizabethspring.com  Elizabeth offers a discount and a free copy of your astrology chart if you buy it on her website.

More Posts about Saturn on this Blog:

Responses

  1. I must admit this strikes a (tired) chord for me. I’m running though a bout of severe anemia – (I think it’s because of Saturn transiting my Virgo 4th House) total exhaustion: head to toe. And yet I’m doing quite well in school, the acting on things has not diminished much at all – almost all A’s in five classes.

    Data: Jul 15th 1957, Los Angeles CA, 4:23 AM

    E.J.

  2. This article came at a time when (I hate to admit), I’ve been considering a Saturn quick-fix while fending off the hunch to dig deeper for a more long-lasting and rewarding result. There’s a real need to act, but the old Saturn “fear” of doing the wrong thing is giving me concrete shoes.

    Your series of articles on fear and the economy are very helpful. Thanks.

  3. Sometimes I find it hard to know whether my tiredness or exhaustion is physical or emotionally based–or both! Astrology reflects what is happening, but we are still called to be the actors, the deciders, the ones who are challenged to self-diagnosis and make changes to help us feel better. My sensibilities always lead me to consider trying to take as many approaches as possible–usually the physical first: tired or hungry? Then emotional: lonely? Or is it a spiritual problem? How have I been inspiring or nourishing my Soul–or not? Have I been feeding myself spiritual junk-food–sometimes disguised as disspiriting TV shows or friends who consistently treat themselves and each poorly? A many sided approach always feels best~what are your ideas? ~elizabeth spring

    • Hi, Elizabeth, thanks again for allowing me to post this excellent article. When I’m seriously tired or spent, I ask myself, “what ABSOLUTELY has to get done today…or else?” Things usually sort themselves out pretty quickly after that. I see Saturn transit overloads as related to establishing priorities according to mission-critical efforts. Donna

  4. Too soon olde; too late schmardt! After all these years with astrological and astrologer’s wisdom, I “lost it” Guess I couldn’t hear you, Donna, and one of my favorite writers: Elizabeth, in April. Most certainly hungry and exhausted to the point of giving-up and/or in. I guess I had surrendered this morning to the point that I could hear and notice what has been there all the time. Thanks


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

