Posted by: Donna Cunningham | April 23, 2011

The Healing Power of Colored Glass

©4-22-2011 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

Skywriter is a mixed-purpose blog of which astrology and healing are only two of the aims, while memoir writing is another. 

I’ve joined a creative writing group online now, and one of the writing prompts this week challenged us to describe cobalt blue or some other color of our choice. It became a short version of my life, told from the perspective of colors that heal me!

Cobalt Blue:

Cobalt blue has always been a power color for me. It’s not that I wear it. You can’t capture that level of intensity in a fabric…unless you’re Kate Middleton, maybe. For me, I find it only in translucent glassware of stained glass blue.

The color’s healing power probably began for me when I was a toddler in a house where 3-4 adults smoked roll-your-own cigarettes incessantly. My adored grandmother would get out that cobalt blue jar of pungent Vicks Vaporub and grease my chest to ease my labored breathing.  

My only science course in high school was chemistry, and it wasn’t clear why I was even there until the day I encountered copper sulfate.

The teacher conducted an experiment where we each dissolved a piece of the deeply-hued CuS04 in acid, creating a thick, cobalt blue solution. I was entranced, but by the time the period ended, it had turned an inky black. 

 I was quite a determined kid, and in the weeks that followed, I set myself the task of preserving the cobalt-colored solution. The teacher was amused, I could tell, but indulged me in a series of mad-scientist experiments. I would dissolve the mineral in one acid or another, race to the HomeEc room, and place it in the freezer. After school, I’d hurry back to HomeEc, but, to my disappointment, the solution had always turned black.  

Fast forward a quarter century to my entry into a mystery school in New York where I was in training to become a lightworker. One of the earliest frequencies of light we learned was cobalt blue, the color for dispelling fear by increasing clarity and wisdom. 

 This potent healing tool became a keystone for lifting a lifetime of oppressive fears, anxieties, and insecurities.  

 Sooner rather than later, I left the mystery school because I could not abide by their rule of secrecy.

I’ve never stopped loving and using the cobalt frequency, which I evoke by collecting glassware of that color. To this day, you’ll find pieces of it on my window sill or hanging in the sunlight. 

Oh, by the way, I learned somewhere in my healing studies that you can put water in a colored glass container in the sun for a day, and it takes on the healing power of that color.  It’s called solarized water.  Try it!

Ruby Glass:

Ruby glass runs in my family. My Leo mother collected it; my Leo sister collected it; and Little old Leo Rising Moi collected it as well. The birthstone for Leo is…yep, ruby.  

Are you wondering what healing properties this color has?  It strengthens positive Mars qualities like courage, stamina, and the capacity to take and to sustain decisive action, especially when we are hesitant or worn down by struggle.

 The women of my family haven’t been conscious of that reason to love it–it’s just an instinctive response to something that has sustained us through hardship.   

Last summer, I moved from a 2-bedroom apartment to a studio in a senior highrise, drastically downsizing half to two-thirds of my possessions in the process.

I decided my largish ruby glass collection could go, even the dinnerware set I got at Sears in 1974 and had used daily since. I commissioned my friend, Lynne, to sell the lot for me on Craig’s List or in consignment shops and we’d split the proceeds.

A couple of days ago, Lynne and I spent the day together, enjoying a long, chatty lunch.  I told her a story about my teenage addiction to sunflower seeds and how it wound up getting me sent to the principle’s office for absent-mindedly leaving the shells behind in class.  

Afterwards, we stopped at the nearest Goodwill Superstore. I was idly browsing the housewares department, not allowing myself to acquire even one more thing lest my studio become too cluttered. Clutter frets me and rumples my peace of mind. 

 But as ruthless as I can be about clutter, a heart-shaped ruby glass candy dish in one of the displays grabbed me and yanked hard. It was solid, substantial, and vibrant with color.

 What a battle ensued, but sanity won out, and I put the heart back on the shelf and pushed my shopping cart out of visual range of temptation. I headed for safe turf—the inevitable, affordable, and rapidly used-up shower gels. 

 When Lynne joined me in the car later, she thrust a bag at me. The item was shrouded in newspaper, but as I groped, I could feel the shape—a wavy, rounded top, a pointed bottom. 

“You didn’t!” I said. 

 “I did,” she replied, “You’re supposed to have it.” 

 It was, of course, the ruby glass heart, which she’d filled with sunflower seeds because of the story I’d told her over lunch.  I took the dish home, and it’s sitting on my end table in the sunlight, next to my cobalt blue pieces.

Each time I look at it, it reminds me that I am loved and that God does not intend that I deprive myself of things that bring me joy.

What about you, Readers?  Is there any color that you find especially healing?  Write about it in the comment section.

PS. I am reminded, belatedly, that Vibration Magazine, the online flower-essence journal, Deborah Bier and I edit had a special issue on light, color, and essences.  See it here: August, 2006.

More Memoirs:


Responses

  1. Thanks for that Donna.
    Very touching story and beautiful colours.
    Happy Easter!

    Maaike

  2. Glad you enjoyed! I’m trying to stretch myself as a writer.

  3. Red! Definitely! Unquestionably! Indisputably!
    I love it so much that up until pretty recently I never bothered to ask the question. I honestly thought everybody’s favourite colour was red! (and everybody’s favourite month was August, but that’s another story!) Then one day, a friend casually mentioned sth about how he likes blue… I was floored!! “Blue?! What d’you mean blue!? Who in his right mind would choose blue over red? What’s wrong with you?”
    One of my fondest childhood stories is about my love for red. When I was little (2 or 3 yrs old), mom would go to the shoe store and pick up 4-5 pairs of shoes and bring them home for me to choose which one I wanted, and I’d always choose the red one.
    To this day, if they have it in red, I’ll buy it in red. Red sweaters, red sheets, red Nikes, red pens, red stationery, red napkins, red lighters, red watch, red eye-glasses. I can never have enough red things. Hmmm, now that I think of it, I wish I had more red clothes, but when it comes to red, I’m very very picky! I want my red to have character, and red garments these days seem to come in its most boring, washed-out shades, it’s like they’re doing it on purpose, just to annoy me!🙂
    It’s kind of an irony when you think of it, how, for all my love of red, I’m stuck with this blue picture next to my nick here! God only knows how I hate blue! And since I’d kill for Barehand’s picture, or Natalie’s picture, I guess now is the right time to ask: could we work sth out here?😛

    • VR!

      I could not agree more with you about Red. Being a red kind of girl myself. From hot pink to blood red, all the shades. When I think of red, I always think of hot, gooey chocolate! I don’t know why!
      Do you have an image associated with the color?

      • Great question, Fabienne, but hard to answer, see in my mind everything is red! (lol)
        Excitement is red, happiness too, fresh starts, definitely red… red is more of a state of mind to me.
        If I had to pick an image, that would probably be lazying in bed on a hot August afternoon, all sweaty, the shutters down, sun rays through the cracks, and the sound of an old noisy fan disturbing an almost perfect silence.
        Oh, and my toenails, always painted red, even when I’m in sneakers- there’s my dirty lil’ secret!😉

      • The interesting thing is that I have never worn a red red in my life, despite a Mars score that is embarassingly unladylike. For a long time, one of my basics was burgundy, which is more like ruby glass.

        So then for Christmas when I was 60, my friend Karen gave me a cape in the reddest red imaginable. I don’t know if she gave it to me because she never noticed I didn’t wear red. Or if she gave it to me BECAUSE she noticed I didn’t wear red. (She’s kinda confusing like that.)

        But anyway, it turned out that red red is intensely becoming to me, maybe because my hair is silver now. So I wear it a lot and get a great response. Donna

      • Yeah, red sits great with silver!
        I happen to have blonde hair and very light complexion, so red definitely agrees with me! If it was up to me, I’d match red with red, but then I’d look like a bimbo! I do do that with sportswear though, and it turns out just fine.
        When it comes to red, I think the shade is a very important factor. Ruby red is great, burgundy red is classy, I like the red on Marlboro’s pack, and also some lighter reds based on orange, bright reds like the fonts you used today are vibrant and jovial.
        But what are you gonna do, industries today have nooo respect for red, they’d go with whatever! Their bad!😛
        I knew you were a red person deep down! Now that I think of it, most people I like like red. Like a cult or something!
        Maybe that’s what had me believe red enjoys unanimous approval…….. But still, who’d choose any colour over red?………….. *rambling incoherently*

      • V.R. yes, yes! it’s perfect. I miss hot and sweaty summers sooo much! And that icy glass of lemonade!
        If I had to choose a color of red, definitely Ferrari red!

      • You know, Fabienne, I’m starting to reconsider my response. I’ve been thinking, Red is nothing if not sudden, and in that sense, it can’t be confined in a snapshot; it requires the element of motion to flourish and unravel its potential.

        Like when you get home from the gym all burned out and sweaty, and you rush to the fridge and gulp down a bottle of water. Or when you Finally get to the beach after a long hour of driving, you take your clothes off quickly and take that first dive- the water feels so cold then you think you’re gonna die! Jumping up and down at exciting news, that’s red. Your double “yes!” -red, too.😉 And ideas, getting an idea is as red as it gets. At least a good one! Red demands (or produces, I’m not sure!) an elevated heartbeat.

        In its essence it can last for too long. As much as you try to hold on to that moment, it quickly fades, and then you’re stuck with pastels- at the very best, or- worse, sky blue and ochre, waiting restlessly for red to hit again! I have to say, I’m a bit dissapointed to see that, for all its beauty, it only got 3 responses😦 I guess I never learn, do I?

        Anyway, I think I’ve got a better image for you. Kids running. More specifically, little kids running. Once they reach a certain age, they start calculating their running and the effort the put to it (speed to distance etc). But 5 year olds, they run with all they’ve got, like hell, like there’s no tomorrow, even if they just have to run for a few ft! Totally Red, don’t you think?

        What I love most about this blog is that it causes me to reflect on things I’d never consider on my own. Till this post I never really considered the healing effect of colours. I don’t know if all colours have an effect on us, or just those we can relate to -positively or negatively. I’m not even sure that red has a healing power. But today, I took some time to sit back and just look at it, and I realised it definitely has an inspiring and vivifying effect on me! And since right now I could use some inspiration, I decided to paint the wall facing my desk red, first thing tomorrow! Hopefully, that will do the trick! Thanks🙂

      • Oh, good image for red, those flat-out joyful little kids running. Also a good image for Mars in its true and unfettered state, before it’s been “educated” (read squelched) out of us. Donna

      • I am not sure about pastels, V.R. I think what comes after red are earth colors. browns and rusty colors. colors that ground you, let all that energy seep down your body, penetrate your cells, warm up your heart and comfort you, so that each red moment is anchored in memory and anchored in your body, And you can call up those red moments anytime you need a little red.
        I agree, this was a good image for red.

    • I think of red as the action color – the color of passion and advocacy. It’s the color I think of when it’s time to act on what we believe in and are willing to risk it all to in order to achieve something greater than ourselves.

      Blue is the color of the deep sea and starry sky – the spiritual pool we float in that permeates our being and can either overwhelm or guide us. Purple is royal – it elevates, refines and dignifies what we’ve learned from blue. Gold is the color of the midday sun, the sunset, the earth we walk on – it protects, warms and nourishes us on our journey. Green is the color of nature, the grass beneath our feet – it cools and balances spirit, reminding us to stay grounded and inwardly calm.

      I’m sure I’ve left out a few colors, but those are my favorites. Does any of this resonate?

      • Yes, it does, LB. I’m liking the images of red that you and others are coming up with–courage. When I was writing about red, the single word that kept coming to me was “heart,” but not in the romantic sense at all, more what you say of an athlete or soldier, “that soldier has HEART!” meaning courage and meaning to win the battle.

        But I especially like the one of the fearless, exhuberant 5 year old running with complete abandon. Donna

      • Hi Donna – I also really liked VR’s (and Fabienne’s) descriptions – so much so, they inspired me.

        But the words you came up with, courage and heart, sum up what I was trying to say about red. I think that’s why I surround myself with it. Maybe the image of children playing works because for many of us, it represents that time in our lives when we’re fearless and joyful. We play and love without reservation.

      • Yes, ladies, red is first and foremost vibrant courageous innocence.

  4. what a lovey story! I so enjoyed the memory lane trip! I still have olfactory memories of Vick Vapor rub, lying in bed sick with the flu, not going to school and enjoying some cat medicine. These creative prompts have a way to take you down to places you have forgotten about.
    As for colors, I am teased because I am always trying to sneak in some red whenever possible! Life is so much better with a little bit of red!

  5. I’ve had a special affinity for cobalt blue since my childhood marble-playing days. Looking at light through the blue always seemed so magical to me. I began slowly but steadily buying cobalt blue glass dishes, glasses, vases, etc… in college and, after 25 years, I have quite a collection. No matter what the holiday or season, I find a way to, literally, bring my favorite blue to the table. Even our kitty has cobalt blue glass bowls!

    What you wrote about the healing properties of cobalt blue is truly relevant to me and my life. I began my collection during a time in my life when I was coping with PTSD and had such great need for its healing energies.

    • I am so sorry for your PTSD, Mandi. I just added a bit to the article that I don’t know if you saw, but it might help:

      I learned somewhere in my healing studies that you can put water in a colored glass container in the sun for a day, and it takes on the healing power of that color. It’s called solarized water. Try it!

  6. I have a small collection of cobalt blue and deep turquoise blue glass pitchers. A friend bought me one as a gift and I adored it. Whenever I’m in a housewares shop or such I gravitate toward anything in those colors. I thought it was because I was a water sign….the blue glass seems like deep, cool water….lovely.

  7. I like red because it’s energizing (I have Aries rising and bright red looks good on me), and the color turquoise. As for stones, I happen to like turquoise, the blue-green color resonates with me for some reason, and jade, because it’s exotic. I have earring and pendants with these stones and wear them quite often.

  8. I remember reading about solarized water in one of the Linda Goodman books. She wrote about how to use it for weight-loss or weight-gain. Kinda wonky, but the idea of infusing water with light of a certain wavelength stuck with me.

    Copper sulfate is an old friend of mine. My childhood – and lifelong- passion has been aquariums and tropical fish. As a child, I remember that copper sulfate was used as a treatment for parasites. You would take a bottle of the pale-blue liquid and add it to the aquarium, counting the drops. You had to use a test kit, to make sure the concentration stayed within the therapeutic range. Years later, when experiments were performed in science class, I already knew what it was. I think my geek score went up a few notches then.

  9. By the way, copper sulfate never contributed any detectable color to the aquarium water. Malachite green, or methylene blue, on the other hand…

    I also remember phenol red and bromothymol blue, which were used for detecting pH.

  10. Love that blue! And glad you got the candy dish! Sending you love. xxx

  11. Hi Donna,

    I do love intense colors and the associations you made seems to match, by having intense lasting effects.

    My color is green. I still have a huge collection of a rich emerald green glassware. It’s not a pale green depression glass, nor the milky jade color that seem to be the more popular choices, but I like those too. The last part is, having loved my collection I am getting ready to sell it/share it all. Time for someone else to use its inspiration and support.

    • I wondered when someone was going to stand up and be counted for green! So far it’s been all red and blue. Donna

  12. I’ve always loved cobalt blue, too, tho I couldn’t tell you why! Perhaps it did start at the traumatizing time of divorce. And I drink solarized water–to which I add some lemon–from a cobalt blue bottle. In addition our great room is decorated in cobalt blue and pink (mostly a salmon pink.)

  13. Earth tones for me, please. My pottery collection of crocks and old bean pots lines the top of my kitchen cabinets and spills over the house. Not just decorative but useful as containers.
    Have you tried to find a brown sweater lately? Nada,…what’s up with that?
    In clothes I like black, grey, white, and dark forest greens. Blue makes me edgy. (Capricorn and Plutonian).
    WET BLANKET ALERT!…well, you can call it a “candy dish” and I guess that could be a spoon rest—but it looks like an ashtray to me!…bringing me right back to the days you mentioned of smoke-filled childhood rooms. There was no escaping it. When I had my appendix out in ’59, my hospital room was full of concerned relatives, puffing away. The doctors even smoked on their rounds. The room was definitely BLUE, but with smoke.
    Glad you’ve trotted out the memoirs, Donna. Some of your best writing is there. To what do you attribute your recent urge, or maybe your conscious decision, to share more of your inner self?

    • The memoirs have been an ongoing project since the blog began, if you look on the dates of those pieces, but it tends to retreat into the background when I’m wound up in a series. Or a series of series. Glad you like them.

      The heart shown IS an ashtray. They didn’t have any candy dishes in Google images where I got the illustrations for this piece. Donna

      • I’m familiar with your memoirs and the dates.. By “recent… sharing”… I meant the daily blogs.
        Sorry I outed you on the Google image lift. I just assumed that the photo was of the actual piece.
        Edit this response out and it’s just between us.
        Mea Culpa, –(I’m just a born fact-checker),
        Best, Berta

  14. Love that cobalt blue! I have a small collection of blue bottles – will have to try keeping my drinking water in them. What a great post. Colors are wonderful.

  15. In Springforest Qigong we tap and massage our kidneys lightly and visualize cobalt blue in them—–In Chinese medicine the kidneys are where fear is held—–thus I found your story about cobalt blue very affiirming—-Pat

    • That’s really interesting. Pat. Do you use other colors for other organs as well? Donna

  16. My favourite colour changes–all through my teens, it was pink and black combo; in my twenties, it was blue, blue, blue (and a mild flirtation with yellow). Then in my thirties, I went earth tones. By my forties, I had a thing for purple; green combos–not to wear, but to paint on the outside of houses–the street front counseling centre I owned then; and the house I rented after my first husband and I split up. I remember standing across the street, admiring the colours of the counseling centre, just after the painting was finished, when a woman walked up and stood beside me, and said, “I know, you’re wondering how could anyone in their right mind paint a house those colours.” I nodded.
    There’s song on a CD by a local singer about that centre, , called The Purple Door. (A good way to keep the services inside discrete–just look for the green house with the purple door on Brunswick Street–no need for a sign.) In my fifties, I am crazy about mixing colours–greens with blues and yellows, oranges with red; purple with blue (NOT green–now that combo feels yech) although I continue to wear earth tones–and blues– mostly. Last summer, I painted fairies and elves on my house windows–lots of blues, greens, reds, and oranges. I seem to want to paint on anything I can get my hands on these days, but my passion is definitely painting on glass. My son and I painted three dozen eggs this week and three dozen sea urchins we collected on the shore and this afternoon we decorated the underbelly of an uprooted tree in our local seaside park. Each egg was a unique combination of various colours.

    Did you know that wind whistling through an egg shell makes a whooshing sound?
    I didn’t know that until this afternoon.

  17. Blue is my favorite color and I collect cobalt blue glass too! I also painted my front door cobalt blue.

    I’m so glad your friend bought you the red heart and sunflower seeds!🙂

  18. Brown.
    I love golden brown, reddish brown, dark brown, light brown… it is chocolate and fried chicken and caramel and cookies… it is my hands deep in the soil planting a garden… it is the color of most dogs & cats… and wood, wonderful sanded, shaped and stained wood furniture…

    Need I add I am 5 earth planets (Cap Sun, Merc, Venus & Chiron, Moon in Taurus) and Taurus rising?

    • Wow, aspico,…if this blog was a dating site you’d be “in like Flynn”–but it’s not…

  19. I love turquoise. I had a wallpaper mural in my first apartment. It was mostly turquoise carribean island scene. I gazed into it for hours. ( very helpful when my husband and I split). After my 2nd divorce I rented a room in a big old framhouse. I painted the walls turquoise. Some people called it Mary’s blue. I loved it. I also wore a bracelet with small turquoise hearts that my father gave me. When it broke I used one of the hearts as a necklace. Today my favorite fleece colored jacket is turquoise.
    oh and when I visited Puerto Rico, I bought a beautiful cotton ruffly dress in turqoise.

  20. Watery greens for me! I have Sun conjunct Neptune in the 6th in watery Scorpio, so for me those colors are soothing and healing. Although I don’t happen to collect glassware, as so many of you do, I do collect glass beads, particularly those made of borosilicate, which sparkles and magnifies color. Glass is an interesting medium, since it is like ice – it’s “frozen” liquid, the molten silica used to make the finished glass object. If it didn’t require playing with fire, I’d be making the beads myself; the colors are extraordinary, and just looking at them makes me feel better.

  21. Loved the story, Donna! I love red, although I seldom wear it. When I was a kid I was usually dressed in yellow or brown, because of my brown hair. My sister got all the red and blue – she was the blonde one. I would eventually get her clothes, but that wasn’t quite the same. So I dreamt of firetruck red and bright ocean blue. Now I do socks. I usually dress very conservatively in black or navy blue, but I have socks in all the colors of the rainbow, and some shoes. I’ll wear green socks and red shoes, or golden sneakers and bright red socks, or green and white shoes with multi-color striped socks. Sometimes to make a statement, but mostly just to amuse myself. And never anything yellow or brown …

  22. I love this post, Donna. And I love your story about the dish that was meant to be yours. What a thoughtful friend.

    My favorite color is absolutely that same deep cobalt blue you favor – it reminds me of the sky and ocean at certain times of the evening. It feels very comforting, deeply spiritual and endless. For some reason though, I can’t live with the color, much as I love it. Why that is, I don’t know. Over the years, various friends have made the random comment that I remind them of this color blue, so maybe that’s why I can’t live with it (or wear it). Or maybe it’s because too much blue can be depressing. But I do create colorful art, and frequently use deep blue in my pieces. Coincidentally, my mom had a collection of glass objects in this color.

    My favorite color to LIVE WITH is a deep amber or gold (with ivory), closely followed by red. These colors make me feel happy and safe. Our home looks like Christmas all year, there’s so much gold and red – some green and shades of purple too. I actually love all bright colors (except maybe lemon yellow), but can’t wear any of them. But I do create colorful art and I do collect colorful glass, including a bowl of red, gold and lavender Christmas ornaments that sits on our coffee table year-round. And we have several amber colored accent lamps that give off a very dim, yet warm, inviting glow.

    I also have a small collection of amber and red colored glass – we have a small place, so most everything is on display. I think one of the red glass vases I own is the exact same style as one of the images you used – it was my mother’s.

    My biggest problem is having to limit myself when it comes to color. Not that I want a bigger space, but if I had the room, I’d love to decorate using several different color combinations. I also love deep, almost-hot pink with deep orange, and teal-blue with green. There’s so much to choose from – that’s why I love art!

    • Adding, the only bright color I can wear (without looking like I’m deathly ill) is purple. So I wear it all the time. The closest I can wear to cobalt blue is a softer shade, along the lines of denim. I can’t wear anything in gold – bleh! And have to be careful with red too. Oh well.🙂

      • I have not limited myself with color in my space even though it is small. However my “base” color throughout the “public areas is yellow, meaning the color is more on the yellow side of the spectrum. Bedroom #1’s color is yellow and bedroom #2 is red based. To me most shades of yellow go with all other colors, like the Sun. This way I can move accessories and furniture around when I want a different look without repainting.

      • Agreed, msFullroller – In terms of decor, shades of gold/yellow seem to complement most other colors, including three of my favorites, red, purple and certain shades of fuchsia/hot pink (even blue). Now if only I could decide on exactly the right shade of gold – lol! Living in a colorful environment inspires me and makes life more interesting. Kindred spirits!

  23. I’ve never thought of my favorite colors as healing. How interesting. I do feel great just by looking at them, of course. Why didn’t I think of it?🙂

    I absolutely LOVE that cobalt-blue glass. I like all (intense) colors, but somehow this blue (for a long time, didn’t know it has a name), and indigo, and turquoise are my most favorite, especially all three combined. As a kid, I used these 3 colors a lot when coloring. And time didn’t change my attraction to the combo one bit.

  24. Lovely story, Donna. The dish looks beautiful and organic to me, like a molten beating heart. Thanks for sharing with us.

    That’s the same color as vintage Milk of Magnesia bottles, isn’t it?

    I’ve read that blue is the most popular color – and that’s fine, I like seeing the blues out and about. 🙂 I inherited my mother’s color palette. She loved both color and the design of things and I enjoy this living link with her still. A bit different, my mother did not favor blue or red in clothes or decor and so it is for me. Thus, purple-lavender is my blue, orange-rust is my red, and black jeans are my blue jeans, of course.🙂

    • LOL, yes, Milk of Magnesia bottles were blue for decades. Again, chosen by instinct. In Chinese medicine the lungs (Vicks) and large intestines (Magnesia) are seen as deeply connected, with fear and grief being the emotions that impact them the most. Donna

  25. I have not experienced in Springforest Qigong using other colors for other organs besides the kidneys—in Chinese medicine the kidneys are considered the most important energy in life and is always no. 1 in our attention—–Pat

  26. I don’t know if I have a favorite color.
    I have always loved blue, especially the dark, cobalt blue. My favorite decorative bottle is cobalt blue.
    I tend to want to buy red clothes, because, you know, red is best. But I have toned it down a bit.
    Black, white and gray are the classic colors that I always have, and tend to wear the most. And I have a brown sweater that I love. (I am Capricorn).
    I have some green, but it has to be just the right shade, and though I do like yellow, it really does not look good on me. Orange is okay, but if it’s the pale shade of St. Joseph’s aspirin for children, forget it. I hated that stuff.
    Right now, I’m really into purple. Can’t get enough.

    When I think over my life and colors, I think black has always been the one that I liked the most. I even prefer black ink to blue.
    To me, black is mysterious, secretive. I think that’s the color.

  27. Donna, you are a lucky girl to have such dear and thoughtful friends. It was enough to give you the glass heart you hankered after, then filled w/ Sunflower Seeds too!? My, my, my .. Lynne is the gift !

    On this dreary raining morning, you sent me walking along the shores of Lake Michigan on a sunny day searching for beach glass – and cobalt blue was ALWAYS to prize! Rare and lovely, delicate and curious …. what is the source of these shards?

    Green is nice too. You would know that from the old photos of our wedding day when the Groom and all his men were dressed in Green tuxes. In 1979 – it worked. Nonetheless, I do get razzed about such fringe behavior in fashion!

  28. Red is one of my favorite colors, too, and I love seeing men in red clothing. This is sort of off/on topic, but it reminded me of your post on planets near the midheaven. I have Mars there. (MC as father) I’ve been told a story several times that when I was born, the doctor said, “Somebody better go out there and tell that man in the red shirt that he has a baby girl before his shirt catches on fire.” This post reminded me of that story again.

    I read somewhere that if you wear red socks your feet will stay warmer. Worth trying on a cold night.

    Thanks so much for sharing this and conjuring up some good memories, Donna.

    • Red socks and red pepper (cayenne in capsules.). Yep, red brings the heat, and with Mars on the Ascendant, my face turns bright red when I’m angry OR working intensely. Donnna

  29. I am an artist. My favorite thing to say is I love color but it needs explaining. Virgo sun, Leo rising, Libra venus.

    I love colors with a cool cast greyed greens and blues and browns. This is my Virgo Sun. I feel elegant when I wear these colors. I love red in small doses, its the color that looks the best with my skin. When I wear red I have confidence I feel myself. I alway wear red lipstick.

    I love pastel colors with a warm cast they are restful and soothing to me but I don’t wear them because they remind me a pajamas and when I wear them I feel boring.

    The most healing color to me is green. hunter green, mint green, sea green grape green, bottle green, sap green, leaf green, you name it. I have just painted my kitchen green.

  30. What a fascinating article you have written there, Donna!
    Being synaesthetic, I love colour, and usually stand out on the train platform as the only person wearing it.
    Purple has been my colour since my early 20s.
    I went for an Aura-Soma colour bottle reading and chose Violet over Violet for my first bottle, and was told that it was all about dying.
    Then I had my aura photographed and it was completely purple, and I was told that for balance I needed to get some more different colours in my aura.
    So I went back a couple of years later, and had managed to get some pink and turquoise in there!
    Love
    Lana

    • Very interesting, Lana. Aura-Soma has some lovely remedies based on color. There’s also a woman who made homeopathic remedies based on color. The November, 2006 issue of Vibration Magazine, in a special issue about using essences with light and color, had an article on purple: http://www.floweressencemagazine.com/aug06/toc.html . Donna

  31. Being a Venus person, for me it’s blue and nothing but. I have a very hard time buying shirts that are not blue. I must actually force myself to choose another color sometimes!

  32. Wow, what a question. I love all the colors now, but as a child there were 4 but they had to be together before I would like them.
    Actually I thought I liked looking at them more than wearing them. The nasty and evil Nun who I got to sweeten up a tad; asked me once…. when there were no other kids in the boarding school (the winter kids left and the summer kids had not come in yet) ,” what is your favorite color” and I said,” the four colors, Red Yellow and Green but they must be with Black or surrounded by black or I wont like them.” She bade me wait there and after a while came back with 4 cans of each color and had me paint the Little Girls playground in these colors. I can not say why I liked these colors as a child but there it is. One other color that has always stood out for me was the carrot top red head. I love the redhead color and looking at it makes me happy. But this has to be someones hair. Now I love all colors in their place. On another note why do older women like to wear the leopard print? I too like to look upon the leopard print but not to wear it. My home has it here and there.
    My grand daughter is mad for everything pink and she is miffed by the sudden wearing of pink ties that the announcers of Al Jazeera and USA politicians have been wearing of late.

  33. PS/ I think Redheads look fabulous in pink!

  34. Fabienne! Late (and long!) response:
    You’re right! Pastels don’t come naturally after red. That’s my own deliberate addition!

    I used to have a penchant for thickness and density in color. Intense colors gave off a sense of strength and depth that demanded my respect. Then, one day, my sister gave me a set of floral bed sheets in pastel hues. First time I used them, I had this strange feeling that I was in someone else’s bed. But then, the next day, it was like waking up in the countryside on a spring Sunday morning . Not home, definitely! (I’m a city girl) but still, some place nice!

    In my mind, pastels are the color of the light. In time I learned to appreciate their clarity and acute brightness. Being a “red type” I’ve always had trouble accessing the serene range of feelings (bliss, contentment e.t.c.), so, as weird as it may sound, pastels ground me. They help me decompress in acting as a reminder that life can be experienced like that quiet sunny spring morning, without losing any of its beauty, and that happiness is attainable away from intensity.

    As for browns and dark greens, I don’t know, they simply don’t speak to me. Not that I dislike them in any strong way, they just fail to captivate me. Too common? Too safe? Too depressing? I’m not sure. I do wear them though (after all I Am blonde) but they’re my poker face really. That’s what I wear when I want to blend in and go unnoticed. (see, I wouldn’t waste my red on whoever- I learned that one the hard way)

    So, after red, what? After two days of reflecting on colors, I’m tempted to suggest that red is followed by, well, red! Here’s what I’m thinking:

    In the beginning, there was straight red. Red-red, as in the color of rush, vitality and fire in the belly. While it is, in essence, the color of courage, to label it courageous would imply a sense of awareness that is well beyond its means. This red is the force of life, and as such, it knows no other way to be. Fierce but not violent, at times dangerous yet never menacing. Physical but not sexual, in its childlike innocence it’s simply incapable of taking into account people, things and circumstances. It has no understanding of tactics and subtleties, no patience with mind games or power struggles, zero tolerance to hypocrisy and, certainly, no time for pondering. Ultimately, red-red is never about others, just you in the moment. “Will you or won’t you? Yes or No? Quick!”

    Now, as Donna pointed out, at some point we’re forced to give up that straight red of our childhoods in order to comply with society and include others in our lives. As we move into adulthood mundane concerns, a leaning for companionship along with the ability to envision the future causes us to trade-in Freudian terms- instant for delayed gratification. Hues of red monitor these shifts in personality and circumstances. The older we get the rarer we dare straight red in fashion, going with more refined, civilized casts. But while straight red becomes rare moments in our lives (moments of honesty and simplicity) that we’ve learned to crave for or cherish in sweaty summer beds like the one I described earlier, we’re still in red territory. In a way, these more moderated shades of red restrict us, but I’ve come to think that in widening the spectrum, they enrich our lives. So, as alternatives for red- red we have:

    Deep pink-red/ pomegranate red for girlish playfulness and feminized daring. Bright cherry red for jovial complicity. Scarlet for our affections. Sizzling deep red/ ruby red for perseverance and the fervor of our passions. Burgundy red for sorrows, betrayals and self-denial. And then there’s purple. We always run the risk of purple. But I can’t talk about purple before bitching a bit about blue.

    Sky blue: Blank and vague. Cerebral but not creative. Depressing as anything that’s cold without a reason, unsettling in its lack of drive and definition. I associate it with negative Aquarius traits. (Positive Aquarius are like turquoise(which I like): dispassionate and yet enthralling, quirky but still fitting, penetrating and imaginative)

    Deep blue: I only got a handle on why I detest it so badly after I contrasted it with red. Red in all its shades is first and foremost fiercely independent. In truth, it never asks anything of you, rather it seduces you into noticing it, you’re drawn to it coz it’s enchanting. There’s an element of magnanimity and generosity about it. Red loves without worrying about being loved back. It doesn’t care about accomplishments either, its motives are more creative. It’s not about winning, it’s about daring to take a step further. Blue on the other hand doesn’t earn your attention, it Demands it. You’re forced to notice it even when you don’t like it. Well, especially then. It’s threatening in its inability to just be, and draining in its eagerness to take from you without giving anything back. There’s an overbearing, even intrusive quality about it. (I associate deep blue with negative Scorpio types , and imho Scorpio is Not one and the same with Pluto)

    This is why I despise purple so much. It’s red tainted by blue, or blue posing as red. Mournful and diseaseful, it’s red contaminated with ulterior motives and petty agendas. That’s why I’ve grown to love pastels so much. They ‘saved’ me from purple.

    There’s a shade of deep blue launched by designers a couple of years ago. It was like a blend of dark blue and coral blue, as if the latter was struggling to come to surface. I associate positive Scorpio types with this shade. Deep, dark, tumultuous, and only complete in merging. But as mesmerizing as this shade was, this too should better stay the hell away from red!

  35. Okay, VR,.. take a deep breath now… and please don’t “despise” anything…we’re all in this together…and we make our own colors…

    • Oh, de gustibus et de coloribus, Berta… Literally!!
      P.S. If I do take that deep breath, you promise to be nice to me?😛

  36. I really appreciate your work , Great post.

  37. What a world comes from tickles!

    • Hi, Mokihana, I originally meant that piece just for our private writing group, then realized I hadn’t ever written about the healing power of color on Skywriter. Donna

  38. Now I see why I’ve always been drawn to color and cobalt blue glass. I have some even buy a particular vitamin because it came in a cobalt glass jar before they were discontinued. I plan on using them as candle holders or as jar candles.

    Besides cobalt blue, eggplant purple, deep reds rather than bright reds, burgundy, orange, yellow, royal blue, copper, bronze, silver, black, browns, green. I prefer deep saturated colors though I have begun to like pastels again, Still don’t particularly care for pink unless it’s a deep mauve pink.

    From this post too I see why I was driven to decorate my home in color even though it is small as I mentioned to LB in reply above. It has been very healing.

  39. Hi Donna, Loved this writing on colors. Do you have any other writings on colors. I would love to read what you have discovered. I was recently guided to dive deep into the colbalt blue waters and do actually make blue water. Plus, this is the color I chose for my wedding and is my favorite color. Blessings, Lisa

    • Oh, my, love cobalt blue! Wonderful that you chose it for your wedding. Donna

  40. Thank you for sharing your insights on color glass. I love cobalt blue. I have collected the glass for years. I have a dinnerware set of plates, bowls, glasses & mugs that I use daily. I feel that cobalt blue imbues a deep peace & tranquility. I have one piece of cobalt blue that I cherish. It is a deep cobalt goblet with a fire tinge of purple when held you the light. I also put water in it & place it in the sun to capture it’s essence.

    You have a wonderful friend in lynne. She understands your “needs”. My ex wife collected the ruby glass for years also. The two together were spectaculsr.

    • Hi, Art, glad you found this piece and that you shared your love of colored glass. I think that, in the light, they share some of the uplifting properties of stained glass windows, on a smaller scale but as daily reminders of what colors can do for us. And, yes, I’m so lucky to have Lynne as my best friend. Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

