Posted by: Donna Cunningham | October 27, 2012

Scorpios in Service Careers—Dealing with Life and Death

Donna says, “The following is an excerpt from Mary English’s new book, How to Win the Trust of a Scorpio, available at http://www.amazon.com/How-Win-Trust-Scorpio-guidance/dp/178099351X. I’ve enjoyed the originality and kindliness of other books I’ve seen in her series on the zodiac signs, and I’m pleased to have permission to publish a sample here.”

©2012 by Mary English

 When someone who is a Scorpio is in what I call ‘their power’ they can achieve great things. I know a number of people that work in social services as social workers, care assistants, care home managers (I’d love to do some research to find out how many matrons and managers of nursing/care/elderly homes are Scorpios) and they’re dealing everyday with ‘life and death’ issues. And it suits them because they’re not afraid of death.

So, what qualities do Astrologers say that Scorpio’s have?

The five I’m going to discuss now are: Deep, Loyal, Secretive and Controlling. We will come onto Trust in a later chapter.

What do we as humans mean when we say someone is ‘deep’? My handy dictionary defines deep as: ‘extending far down on or in from top or surface or edge’….and deep feelings as: ‘fully absorbed or overwhelmed.’

If we were to play opposites here, we could say that Scorpio energy is not fluffy, superficial or light-hearted. I’d be more likely to say those were Gemini qualities.

Here is a young lady describing what being a Scorpio means for her:

“I like having a sense of what’s going on in a room of people – sort of tapping into it, laying low, and feeling it all. Although there have been times in my life when this feeling has been too strong (as a teen mostly), paralyzing me while I’m feeling too much! In other words: Seeing without being seen; sensing without being sensed.”

She clearly describes how during her teens these feelings had paralysed her.

Let’s go back to the dictionary definition above:  fully absorbed or overwhelmed.

Now you’re not going to feel ‘fully absorbed or overwhelmed’ if you’re skimming the surface of something. You have to go deep.

So what do we actually mean when we say a Scorpio is deep?

We mean that they will focus on, and become’ as one with’ whatever they are doing. They don’t skim over the surface or flit around, they will go further and take themselves with what they do. I’ll give you an example.

I’ve had to deal a lot with social services over the last few years as my mother became too old to look after my youngest sister who has Down’s Syndrome (I mentioned her in my book How to Cheer up a Capricorn as she is that sign)

I then started to come across a lot of Scorpios. They like working with people on the fringes of society. They like being motivated with a sense of purpose in the work they do and they also can work for long periods without supervision and are capable of dealing with sad/upsetting/tense situations that would put the fear of god into more fluffy signs. A number of social workers I came across were Scorpio. The manager of unit in the nursing home where my sister went is a Scorpio and I knew she was in safe hands when I found out his sign. They also have jobs in funeral parlours, or with the bereaved. They can work in incredibly intensely emotional places and are calm and collected in that work.

To me, that’s deep. That takes a deep personality to want to work with people that are disadvantaged in some way, that are ‘at the mercy’ of life.

A lady came to my house one day who was training to be a social worker at our local University and she came to do what’s called a care assessment. She asked all the right questions, was polite and gentle, kept on-track and didn’t deviate from her task, which was to fill out her forms and get a ‘feel’ of how things were…and as she was leaving I asked her what sign she was.

‘Scorpio’ she said ‘Why?’…’Just curious’ I said. She didn’t ask anymore questions, and off she went.

That’s a Scorpio.

Accepting of how things are. She didn’t, as some other signs might do, jump back at me with millions of questions. She just answered my question and left it at that.

Super!

The point I am making is a Scorpio will always focus on the task in hand. They won’t multi-task. They will do one thing at a time. Do it well or not at all. Put all their life and soul into that task and will do it deeply.

Whatever job a Scorpio decides to do or have, they will put their whole self into it, and ‘become’ that occupation.

I also know a few white witches and women who work with the Earth that are Scorpio. I won’t name them as I haven’t asked their permission to be included in this book but the two that come to mind have spent their whole lives doing what they do. They know their subject really well. Live it and breathe it. Their whole lives revolve around the world they’re created. They’re not pretending to do what they do. They are their work, and their work is their life. The two things can’t be separated.

Once a Scorpio has made up their mind to do something, that’s what they’ll do. It would have to take some terrible circumstances for them to want to change their Life Path as they’re what we call a Fixed Sign. These are the signs that don’t like change:

Taurus, Leo and Scorpio are Fixed and they will only make changes after volcanic-like eruptions.

Think of the actress Jodie Foster and her performance in ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ you can’t get more ‘deep’ than she does in that film.

Biography: Mary English was born in London and educated in Switzerland at the American International School of Zurich. She comes from a large family and is one of 5 children.  Mary has been writing since she was 13 when her sister Lucy (a published author of fiction) gave her a diary for her birthday.
She was Resident Astrologer for the bi-monthly green parenting magazine ‘The Green Parent’ for 5 years and appeared for 2.5 years to ‘Do the Stars’ on the Emma Britton Morning Show on BBC Radio Somerset. She now appears on the Hannah Murray Show on Talk Radio Europe, Spain’s largest English language radio network, broadcasting on the Costa del Sol/Axarquia and Costa Blanca/Costa Calida and reaching 1,000,000 English speaking consumers and with Nathan Morley on Cyprus Radio.  Mary lives in BathUK with her husband, son and her black cat. She sees clients face-to-face and writes personal Birth Charts for visitors to her website. It was these consultations that inspired her to write about the Sun Signs to help her clients understand their motivations and learn about their Astrology profiles. Mary is a member of the Society of Authors, The Astrological Association of Great Britain and The Association for Astrological Networking.

Relevant Articles on Skywriter:

Responses

  1. This is just so true! My 90 year old father chose his death by refusing food. While he was on the palliative care ward in the hospital, I noticed that he was dissociating with his family and bonding to one particular nurse. The only thing he seemed to notice was when she came and went. She had a calm, knowing presence. I asked her Astrology sign and of course she replied “Scorpio.”

    • Great illustration, Vallie! Thanks for sharing it. Donna

  2. Leo sun, scorpio moon and scorpio rising….. and everyone calls me stubborn!!! I wonder why :-)

  3. Hi Leo Sun, Yes, your not stubborn, you’re focused! Make sure people understand that:) In Peace Mary xx

  4. Does this apply if you have Scorpio in the 10th and Scorpio MH. I’ve been thinking a lot abou going back to school to be a Social Worker.

    • Hi, Jewel, yes, with Scorpio MH, a career in the healing fields should be good. Donna

  5. thank you, seriously. not just for saying something nice about scorpios and endeavoring(with astonishing tact) to articulate what scorpios can’t say – very few things in life happen suddenly so if someone got “amputated” they were probably a serious danger to the body – but thank you for writing about something which caused you discomfort. your bravery and your willingness are invaluable lessons to me.

  6. I have my… sun, mercury, venus, mars, in scorpio, and pluto and uranus
    at 26 leo….my life has been about, regeneration in life, death and sex. i know longer engage in any thing.

  7. Hi Mary……am also Mary and I am a 16 year old girl from South Africa.I am scorpio and I love…kinda like obsessed with knowing who and what I am. As a scorp..people awlays persive me as stubborn,manipulative,perisitant,determined and unpredictable.Your article is really interesting and genuine.I wanna follow a career in journalism and media studies…..and I will just like to knw if u think this career feild suits my zodiac sign……..love being scorpio……((:


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

