Posted by: Donna Cunningham | September 17, 2009

Tips for Bloggers 3–A Promising Anthology on Blogging

huffingtoncvr3 (c)2009 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

Do you pay attention to the list of links WordPress puts at the end of your blog posts that it calls, “Possibly related posts?”   I often find that the articles in the list  provide great new insights into the topic of the post itself by experts I didn’t even know existed.  Since some of the posts listed are my own, it may also remind me to create backlinks to previous posts that are related to the current one.  (See the article below on why blacklinks your stats.)

Today I followed a link at the bottom of one of my posts for bloggers, and found a review of The Huffington Post Complete Guide to Blogging. It sounds like a great book, an anthology with pieces by all kinds of experienced bloggers on how to have a successful blog. It’s edited by famed columnist Ariana Huffington, creator of the blog-filled news site The Huffington Post, and published by Simon and Schuster.  You can see the book and order it here: The Huffington Post Complete Guide to Blogging.

I bought the book this morning from Amazon.com (for $.94 gently used!) and while I was there, also bought  ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income by my Blogging God, Guru, and Guide, Darren Rowse, whose daily posts on ProBlogger I follow. In case you hadn’t guessed, I am SERIOUS about blogging.  I think it’s the best thing to hit astrology since AstroDataBank’s Birthdata Collection of Notables.  It’s a way to form an astrology community whose connections don’t depend on attending expensive astrology conferences.

MORE TIPS FOR BLOGGERS ON THIS SITE:  

FREE EBOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS ONLY:  a 50-page excerpt from my out-of-print book, The Moon in your Life, also known as Being a Lunar Type in a Solar World.  Read more about it here: NEW: FREE BOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS!   If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post.


Responses

  1. Astrology blogs have helped my learning so much. And I’ve made friends. I found my soul family. (I sound like a bad ad!).

  2. The Problogger book is a real source of information. Each page includes useful tips and techniques for building a successful blog. Reading this book from cover to cover will give you a solid education in blogging. It is the most comprehensive and realistic book I have seen on blogging, but it is not overwhelming.

    It covers everything from choosing a blogging platform and a topic, through design, what (and how often) to post, monetization strategies, interacting with your readers, using social media and getting links, and much, much more. The parts I like the most are the exercises he suggest at the end of the chapter. Very useful.
    Boy! I sound like an ad. But it is a good book. Really!

  3. Thanks, I can’t wait until mine comes in the mail.

  4. Great tip on clicking through related posts! Can you guess how I got here?

    • I followed your link on the comment and found my article on the WordPress’ list of possibly related posts. I do know that Darren Rowse’s tips on problogger.com work. Whenever I add a list of related posts to a new article, as he suggests, they get a surge of new views. Donna

  5. I got the Huffington Post guide when it came out, and its ok. Problogger is better though.

    • I agree, Chris. Huffington was kind of blogging 101, Who’s Who, but Problogger had plenty of meat. I’m a great fan of ProBlogger and the hints there help a lot. Donna

  6. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put
    in penning this blog. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content by you
    later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog
    now 😉


Leave a comment

Categories