Posted by: Donna Cunningham | September 18, 2008

Stuck For What Seems Like Forever? Maybe Areas of Unforgiveness are the Cause

©2008 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

If there are people or situations in your history that wounded you so deeply you’d rather die than forgive, then it must have been pretty hard to click on this link.  Give yourself credit—some part of you is ready to take a huge step forward! 

 My current “breakfast book” is Joel Osteen’s Your Best Life Now, an extremely useful and inspiring paperback.  He says that when we have parts of our life where we’ve been stuck for years, and nothing but nothing seems to budge them, then the root cause is often an area of unforgiveness

Well, I surely do have an area or two in my life that  doesn’t change no matter how many energy treatments, flower essences, lightwork sessions, guided meditations, mantras, homeopathic remedies, visualizations, prayers, guides from other dimensions, yadda yadda I’ve tried over the years, putting my whole heart and soul into the work.  Maybe you do, too, and maybe, like me, you secretly suspect that you’re a metaphysical moron. 

 When I read what Joel had to say, in his usual humble, humorous way, I just couldn’t think what relevance my list of unforgivables had to do with my list of unbudgables. What could a certain issue I still had with my mother who died 20 years ago possibly have to do with my lifelong struggle with a certain blockage?  But, hey, that particular issue had been UP again of late, and I’d tried every doggone thing I could think of to get free of it.  What could I lose by trying? 

I prayed, “Dear God of All Creation, I KNOW You want me to forgive my mother.  And You know I’ve worked a lot of that crud through, but Joel insists there’s still more.  I don’t know what it is, and I don’t know how to release it, but You do and You know how. I ask that You completely dissolve each and every area of unforgiveness that remains in my relationship with my mother.”

 And then I added the kicker—the post script you don’t want to try unless you’re really serious:  “I MEAN IT, LORD.”  That particular rider on a prayer kicks things into high gear. 

 And just like it always happens when I pray that way, the insights and windows to forgive immediately poured in.  Oh yeah, I remembered stuff and prayed to release it.  And I found out that certain people who annoy me do that because they’re acting like a mother.  They think they’re being nurturing and helpful, but I interpret them as being controlling and get all bent out of shape.  There’s been plenty of movement in that stuck place since then and positive change in a couple of relationships.

 If this is ringing bells with you, try tackling an area of unforgiveness of your own.  Forgiveness is really not for the sake of the offending party, but rather to give you freedom and peace of mind.  And it might just get you unstuck—isn’t that worth a shot? 

 In addition to prayer, here are some healing tools that can be helpful:

  •  Flower essences like Bach’s Willow, Holly, and Star of Bethlehem
  •  Purple light shading into lavender to move from grievance to forgiveness.
  •  Soul retrieval work on the incident/s that wounded you
  •  EFT (“tapping”)  or HBLU (Healing from the Body-Level Up) See an article here: EFT-Another Self-Help tool for Freedom from Fear

Related articles on this blog:moonbkltcvr

 FREE EBOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS ONLY: Mothers, Daughters, and the Moon, a 50-page excerpt from The Moon in your Life. Read more about it here: NEW: FREE BOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS!  If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post.

 

 

           


Responses

  1. I was looking at my blog stats and saw a hit from this page. The title grabbed me. I think I needed to read this.

    • That’s the neat thing about the way a blog is set up. No post is really ever lost–it can resurface when it becomes relevant again due to transits or newsworthiness of any kind. This post really speaks strongly of those who are strongly affected by the transiting Pluto-Saturn square to rough spots in the natal chart.

      BTW, folks, this is Neeti Ray, the author of one of the top 10 posts of all time here on skywriter: Saturn Transits the 7th House—a Rare Interview with Father Time Himself. It’s never gone out of date–it gets page hits all the time! Check out her blog, Astrology Expressed. Donna

  2. Loved this post…I’ve being working on forgiveness for few years now…thanks

  3. I truly believe that everything is purposeful and happens for a reason that’s why I was led to this blog. I’ve been researching about Pluto in general because of the upcoming Pluto retrograde. I’ve also been researching about Chiron issues, so to speak and lo and behold this led me to ‘issues with mommy’ a blog that was written in 2008 that is now resonating with me. You know what’s funny? I just started listening to Joel Osteen too. One astrologer has been mentioning the book, The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo and I read it and it only confirms the wisdom of this book by leading me to this site.

    To the author, I thank you for taking the time to share your wounds and wisdom to the souls who are looking for ‘omens’ along the way. I wish you continuous healing.

    • Thank you, Michelle. One great thing about Pluto people is their capacity to look deep into what is wrong and to keep working toward healing, no matter how tough the process is. Donna


Leave a comment

Categories