Posted by: Donna Cunningham | April 23, 2009

Can U Blog? What to Look for in the Birth Chart

©2009 by Donna Cunningham

 I’ve been a blogger for just about 5 months now, and have actively sought out great blogs for longer than that as a way to determine if I have what it takes to blog.  The sites I enjoy most share the quality of freshness–both in the sense of originality and in the sense of being a touch sassy. My role models write like newspaper columnists, informally and personably sharing their commentaries on life in this weird millennium.

 They aren’t afraid to express controversial opinions in a light-hearted way or to share a joke on themselves. A good post isn’t fine literature for the NY Times Notable Books list, but it’s fun to read, teaches me something new, and piques my curiosity. The primo blogger is somewhat of an authority on one–or ideally several–subjects, but is also a popularizer who can make an arcane field understandable and interesting.  (You can find some neat examples on the blogroll list here.)questionideamoney-a2d

 What placements in an astrology chart would go along with qualities like these?  What planet am I describing? It would be people who are strongly mercurial in nature.  They’d have a strong Mercury, maybe with a little jolt from Uranus. Mercury becomes high focus in a chart by appearing on the Ascendant or Midheaven or aspecting the Sun, Moon, or several planets.  It is heightened by having planets in the Mercury-ruled signs Gemini or Virgo. Having the Sun, Moon, or two or more planets in the 3rd house of the chart, the house of communication and writing, also wouldinternetsaturnstars-a2d help. 

 However, I know lots of people with several planets in Gemini–that’s what was happening from May-July in the early 1940s–and many of them have yet to write a single article.  I had one friend who had six planets in Gemini, incredibly and irreverently funny, an exceptional raconteur, but despite all my urging, she didn’t write any of it down.  Maybe they’re all starting blogs now–it’s the trendy thing, with millions of new ones every week. However, I’d wager you could find many of their sites in Blog Ghost Town, abandoned after a week or two of intense posting.  There’s a collection of them at One Post Wonders (http://1post1der.blogspot.com)

What creates stick-to-it-ivness is some help from Saturn or maybe Pluto, good aspects or even bad ones.  The Virgo side of Mercury is also more conducive to regularity…on the verbal level, though it doesn’t always extend to the physical level, if you listen to their chronic complaints about constipation.  (I know, I know, I ought to delete that last remark!) Many of them are driven to write because they want to be useful and set other people on the right path, and they have many practical skills to offer .

 MORE TIPS FOR BLOGGERS ON THIS SITE:  

FREE EBOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS ONLY:  a 50-page excerpt from my out-of-print book, The Moon in your Life, also known as Being a Lunar Type in a Solar World.  Read more about it here: NEW: FREE BOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS!   If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post.


Responses

  1. […] Can U Blog? What to Look for in the Birth Chart […]

  2. Despite a moderate Mercury score I blog. I welcome the challenge of formulating an idea, feeling and or experience, in another language then my mother tongue. Blogging to me is only one more form of self expression, rather then – promotion, I believe so dear to the Pluto in Leo generation. I like to think that my blog posts are enhanced by the results of carrying my digital camera most everywhere most all of the time. To me it has been a taoist exercise in futility, where I stick to the exercise and need of self expression, no matter the lack of exposure and interaction I would really welcome.

  3. Thanks for sharing some good information. if you could also share the chart with d-9 and d-30 charts that would help us to explore more intricate connections.


Leave a comment

Categories