Posted by: Donna Cunningham | January 24, 2010

Skywriter’s Readers share their own Neptunian Career Tales

 ©1-24-2010 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

Yesterday’s post about Neptune transits to the 2nd, 6th, and 10th houses ( Neptune’s in your Career House? It’s not a Transit, It’s an Epoch!) sparked a productive discussion in the comment section.  Since many of you don’t read the comments, I wanted to share some of the stories here. For the student of astrology or the professional, real-life examples like these are a great way to learn how the transiting planets affect people.  We owe a big thank you to the readers who shared them!

Example #1: The woman whose story follows gives us a textbook Neptune in a career house tale that ends by her recovering a life-long dream.

“This is why I love you, Donna. I’m always learning something insightful with your writings. Today’s post had me pulling up my chart since I’m one of those with Neptune currently midway through my 10th house. In 2006 it was crossed my Midheaven while squaring my Sun & Neptune conjunction in Scorpio in the 6th. Your description of career uncertainties fit for this period. My work life took a dramatic, sudden change due to dissatisfaction with my job. I found myself a stay at home mom, living back in my rural hometown to be near family and not having to work for first time since I was 12.”

“It was a sea change for me but I actually loved it more than expected. For first time in my life I wasn’t pushing myself at a job to excel and strive to “do” or “be” something in the outside world. I gave myself the freedom to just slow down, be a Mom and do things because I wanted to do them ‘just because.’

“In the summer of 2009 (after my period “semi-retirement”) my old ambitious, career-oriented self emerged again as Neptune continued to move through my 10th house. Faced with an opportunity to lease an adorable retail space, I suddenly found myself thrust back into retail life.

My sister and I opened up my dream shop where all my past career skills now come into play in a creative and enjoyable way. But this time I’m the boss, not just an employee. For the first time in my life I feel like “yep, this is finally the right ‘career’ path for me.” And the shop is so far exceeding our goals and building a terrific nurturing community among our customers.

“So for me Neptune in the 10th has brought clarity and direction after years of moving through misty avenues searching for the right direction. Ironically, what I’m doing now is exactly what I wrote 25+ years ago as a freshmen in high school as my dream: to someday own my own retail book/gifts in a charming space in my historic downtown. Maybe the fact that my Sun and Neptune are so tightly conjunct has something to do with it. I’m probably more attuned to Neptune and actually benefit from the square energies than someone not as comfortable with the murky, undefined but creative nebulousness that is Neptune’s realm.”

Example #2: Another reader has Neptune involved in both the natal and transiting picture as well as a further Neptunian influence, the 12th house.  She writes:

“I have Sun conjunct Neptune in Libra the 2nd natally, with sextiles to Saturn conjunct Pluto in Leo in the 12th.  I’ve never had a clear career path, but always gravitated to the arts and worked most of my life as a technical illustrator. Now, I have Saturn coming to conjunct the Sun and Neptune, while Pluto (transiting the 5th) will be squaring it. Then, Uranus will oppose from the 8th. Right now, I feel trapped in my job. I will be eligible to retire in May, but am afraid I might not make it financially. True to Neptune’s nature, I feel lost and floating in rough seas.’

Here’s my reply:

“A Neptune transit fairly often involves a downsizing because the old types of work just don’t suit you any more. But in the long run, though you’re out of the mainstream and not so affluent, you get to open up a more creative or spiritual life path that fulfills you more.”

“What’s particularly significant is when a transit in some way echoes a natal aspect.  In your case, the Pluto-Saturn conjunction in the 12th house is in some regards a career indicator, because Saturn usually carries a career connotation and the 12th is a house of service…just as much or more so than its opposite house—the 6th.  (The 12th is also related by nature to Neptune.)

“The current transits by Pluto and Saturn will therefore evoke the natal 12th house conjunction and give you the opportunity to work it through on a new level. Retirement will bring you the opportunity to live out the quieter, more contemplative side of your nature that the 12th house represents.”

One reader wrote by email that she’s already living out her Neptunian ideal in her work:

“I have the Sun and Mercury in Pisces in the 10th house of my natal chart.  Currently Jupiter, Neptune, Uranus, and Chiron are all transiting that house.  Transiting Neptune is 3 degrees from the MC, along with Jupiter and Chiron.  They’re square to my natal Neptune in the 6th house in Sagittarius.  Transiting Neptune also squares my natal Saturn in the 12th house in Gemini. Could my life get any more Neptunian than that?

“I love my job at the Zoo and wouldn’t trade the low pay for another job that wouldn’t bring me satisfaction and happiness I feel at the end of the day.  The only stipulation is that I am giving the Zoo 5 years to hire me full time, and currently I am still part time and almost at my 3 year anniversary.  This is a job I wouldn’t mind staying in until I retire, so I hope I get hired full time by then.  If not, I will pull up my roots in fertile Missouri and transplant myself in south south south Florida with all the other tropical plants.  Can you tell I am a horticulturist? My favorite quote is: Get off your cross, I need the wood.”

…And then I Discover that IT’S ALL ABOUT ME!

Sometimes I think that when I write, I’m really only writing messages to myself.  Do any of you other writers find that to be true? Or do you astrologers or healers suddenly get the odd sensation in the middle of a session that the wise advice you’re offering a client applies equally to the way you’re living your own life? And do you realize with no little embarrassment how much better off if you’d be if took your own advice to heart?

After I posted yesterday’s piece about Neptune and career transits, I began to realize how much it mirrored my own experience of Neptune transiting the 6th,  and I got a great many new insights about the turning my career took during that epoch.  I’ll close by sharing  some of my Neptune story with you.

What you may not realize is that the houses of the horoscope come in a variety of sizes from small (22° wide from one cusp to the following one) to medium (about 30°) to Xtra large (up to 45° with a whole sign intercepted.) My 6th house is 41° wide and so when a slow-moving planet like Neptune that moves only a couple degrees of the zodiac a year comes along, it can be in that house as long as 20 years. The time Neptune spent in my 6th felt more like 40!!

The 6th house is not just the house of work, it’s also the house of health, and so career changes that occur during a 6th house transits often come about because of health issues. The most significant event that occurred during that epoch was a head injury in a car accident about 17 years ago that changed my life—and my work—forever. It affected my ability to focus for long periods of time and created a permanent loss in short-term memory.  (I won’t go into detail, but if you’re interested, you can read about it here: Cancerians, Memory and Emotion.)

I do have Neptune in the 3rd natally squaring Mercury on the cusp of the 12th, and so a significant head injury certainly could be related to that transit. As I mentioned to one reader in the comment quoted above, the most significant transits are those that in some way echo a natal aspect, because they bring you to a new place in expressing the energies of that aspect.

This past year, Uranus in Pisces, Saturn in Virgo, and Neptune and Chiron in Aquarius have all been setting off that natal Mercury-Neptune square.  I’ve changed my career direction significantly this past year so that:

  • I’m retired from chart consultations in order to be a full-time writer
  • I’ve changed my writing style to a punchier one that works well for internet writing.
  • And I’ve learned excellent work-arounds for managing the head injury better.

It’s all been unfolding naturally through these three sets of transits, but yesterday’s post and your responses to it in the comment section helped me put the pieces together.

How about you, readers?  Do you have any stories about how the process of a Neptune transit to your 2nd, 6th, or 10th houses affected your career? If you haven’t already, read Neptune’s in your Career House? It’s not a Transit, It’s an Epoch! and leave your comments there.

If this post was helpful, DON’T MISS THE NEXT INSTALLMENT IN THIS SERIES.  Sign up for a subscription, and get a FREE EBOOKLET for Skywriter Subscribers Only: Mothers, Daughters, and the Moon, a 50-page excerpt from The Moon in your Life. Read more about it here: New: Free Booklet For Skywriter Subscribers!

If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post with a request for the booklet in the subject line.

Art Credits: Like most posts on this site, the art here came from Clipart.com.


Responses

  1. I came into this world with neptune in my tenth house. I realize that this post is focused on transiting Neptune. Would you mind if I shared some of my experiences or would that be best left to another day/post?

    • By all means share, Maureen. What happens is that transiting Neptune is in a career house for so long–up to 20 years–that the people wind up having very similar experiences and developing similar work patterns and dilemmas to those with natal Neptune or Pisces there. Donna

      • Okay…I’m embarrassed…I had a brain freeze on this one…It’s Uranus that’s in my 10th. Neptune is really in my 2nd house. Duh! Is this part of Neptune’s illusion 🙂

        Transiting Neptune is towards the end of my 5th house for the rest of 2010.

        Many apologies. – Maureen

  2. Well i have Neptune in my 4th house in Scorpio and now Neptune Chiron and Jupiter are in my 7th house Natal Squaring my Natal Sun in Taurus in my 10th House so it makes me feel Really Tired sometimes !!!
    But in My Progressed Chart i have Netune in My 2nd House and Neptune Chiron and Jupiter are in My 6th House
    and in this years i have been low energy and i have learned what i can about metafisics, astrlogy and related things not formally just as a Hobby and i love it !!!

    I Love This Blog Because it has deep insights that help us Undertand what is going on and how we can become better Human Beings !!!

    Thank You Donna Cunningham !!!!

    • You are welcome Jorge. It is my hope that readers who have these placements in common can share with each other and thereby they don’t feel so alone. Donna

  3. Aloha Donna…I can hardly wait to read your blog each day and learn so much! I was born with Neptune closely conjunct my 10th, opposed to my Moon/Saturn, and square my Jupiter in Asc. My story of transiting Pluto and Uranus in Virgo to my 10th house began with a soul-yearning to become a mother as these two planets were first opposing my Saturn/Moon then square my Jupiter, and finally conjunct my Neptune in 10th, which rules my 4th house. After 5 long years of trying to conceive, we finally decided to try and adopt a child, were turned down several times by religious agencies, became very disillusioned, and were about to give up when I received a phone call while I was at work, by a non-sectarian agency we appied to, and they told me there was a baby boy waiting for me, so I better quit my job that day and get ready to bring him home! My gracious boss gave me his blessings!

    • Interesting. I am convinced that adoption is ruled by Neptune aspects to the 4th/10th (MC/IC) axis, as I’ve seen it many times when someone adopts. Donna

      • Spot on, Donna. I was adopted shortly after birth, and have Neptune conjuct IC/opposite MC, from the 3rd house side.

      • Oh, my. Interesting you should note that, Donna. I’m currently caring for my 3-year old step-grandson. His mother (my stepdaughter) is in trouble with the law. My husband and I have really been flogging this conversation, regarding what our responsibilities are in this regard, if my stepdaughter must go to jail. Neither of us has any desire to parent children at our age (me: early 50’s, hubby: mid-50’s). Additionally, I have no biological children myself (natal Neptune/5th). But this thing seems to have been thrust upon us. We’re providing all the love and care we can right now, but for the longer term… I just don’t know.

  4. Donna,

    Thank you for posting my comment (example #2). I did forget something though…and it is also important.

    Transiting Neptune is going back and forth across my descendant. For the beginners, that is a strong and important angle that separates the six from the seventh house. Sneaky co-workers have been a problem for a long time. Also, those who are either neurotic, untruthful or addicted to drugs or alcohol have found their way into my working life.

    As transiting Neptune flirts with the seventh house, I must be very careful of so-called “experts” as well. I recently received a letter from my CPA stating that his office was broken into, and my identity at risk of being stolen. Fun.

    One thing I learned by doing astrology is to always check the condition of the planet in the natal chart first. Someone like me, with natal Neptune conjunct the sun in the second, sextile a Saturn/Pluto conjunction hiding in the 12th does not have the same experience that someone who has Neptune in a mean conjunction, opposition or square to Pluto, Saturn or Mars, for example.

    Even my Pluto transits are not as bad as some people have with theirs. Second Saturn return? No problem!

    The only really bad issue with my natal Sun/Neptune conjunction in the second is my really, really, really bad history with money. So, Saturn there right now is teaching me to be more responsible if I want to retire; and to be more frugal as well. No, Patricia, that Spencer Alexis jacket that costs $125.00 is NOT a life or death decision!

  5. Hi Donna,

    Love your blogs.

    I have transitting Neptune 1/2 way through my 10th…. Lots has changed and is changing. Uranus is on the 10th. Uranus in 1st house. I am headed deeper and deeper into study of astrology.

    My kudos to you on rising up from a potentially crippling event and making it into lemon merigue pie for Everyone.

    As soon as Uranus calms down and I get moved for the 2nd time this year – I will count my shekels and see if I can study w/ you. Meanwhile, my regards and best wishes for your ongoing success.

    Molly (Kaufmann)

    • Thank you, Molly. Fortune cookie say: woman with so much Uranus no make promises! Donna

  6. “Or do you astrologers or healers suddenly get the odd sensation in the middle of a session that the wise advice you’re offering a client applies equally to the way you’re living your own life?”

    Yes yes YES! It’s like these people are sent to us to hold up the mirror and reflect the information and advice that we need to hear ourselves.

  7. Donna, the question of Neptune in the 10th was an eye-opener for me! I can only see what was going on, now that it’s leaving my 10th at long last on January 29 after being in my career house since February 1995.

    Looking back on this long transit, it began as I was peaking in my astrological career after many years of consulting—also writing in astro-journals and publishing Chironicles newsletter. Neptune entered my 10th while I was preparing for the Chironic Convergence—a trip to Greece, Chiron’s mythical homeland, in 1996. I was stunned at the end of that successful journey when my inner guidance told me to put astrology on the back burner.

    I still worked full-time for the government and did all my astrology work on the side. Talk about a juggling act! Your phrase that really struck me was Divine Itch. I knew my civil service career wasn’t my ultimate vocation, but I was too close to the finish line to give up its rewards. If astrology wasn’t “it,” what was? I relate to not being sure what I was supposed to go toward.

    Ultimately, I saw that I had been doing it all along—writing. I didn’t think I was supposed to do astrology or even write about it. I wanted to bridge to wider audiences. When I finally retired from government service in late 2005, I kept trying to open those “wider” doors and did somewhat … but as Neptune first entered the 11th in January 2009 before its final retrograde back to the 10th, stunning things were happening I never attributed to Neptune till now. I had a strong spiritual “reorientation” and right behind it, a series of synchronicities that brought me back to writing about astrology. It’s as though, once the Neptune fog lifted, I saw that the answers were there all along. I knew that if I were ever to expand to a broader readership, I had to go back and reclaim the audience where I had such mutual rapport– the astrological community. Full circle!

    • thanks for posting that, Joyce. I’ve been through most of that career winding journey with you via email these past few years, and it’s interesting to see it in retrospect as a Neptune journey. And not over yet. Donna

  8. Hi Donna, I can really relate to your article, as I currently have Neptune moving through my 10th house. Before it entered, I had been feeling vaguely dissatisfied with my career, feeling boxed in and not able to express my creativity.

    I left my fulltime job when Uranus also crossed my MC, switching to a design career. Was laid off and am now in state of confusion as you so perfectly described in your article. Have decided to strike out on my own in my original career field, but I don’t feel all that confident about it.

    I’m hoping to get more clarity(ironically) when Neptune enters Pisces. It will at least start sextiling my Taurus Sun, Venus, & Mercury.

    • thanks for sharing that–a typical Neptune/10th story, and yet by looking at a number of such stories, as we’ve done in these two posts, we see the common themes. I also think that seeing a collection of stories like this helps the individual person feel less like they are losing ground, because it is a process shared by others getting the same transit.

      Hmm. Since you’re a designer and Taurus is so tactile, maybe Neptune won’t be sextiling those planets it will be textiling them. (Ghastly pun. I tried to refrain!) Donna

  9. Thru Poseidon’s mists, I’m getting a little perspective with your comments re Neptune in career houses — compounded by being born in the 12th, with Neptune in my 6th, Uranus in 2nd, Pluto in 4th — how nebulous and illusive the world of work and solid income.

  10. I was looking for the answers why am I so confused and not knowing what i want…and then i type in google transit neptune trough 10th house..and wow I found your artikel! This explain so much so, thank you very much Donna for posting it.
    When i was a smaal child i knew very clear what i want of my life and now i dont understand why can’t i not see clearly where do i want to be…so, i feel ashamed. Neptune is in my nataal chart exact on my descedant and he is transiting my 10th house since 2002 is going to stay there until 2015 -;(

    I’v been working for 12 years for a same company (electronica stuff, i have uranus in 6)
    but deep in my heart i really wanted to do something more creative..to make music, or to dance but also to help people with their problems.
    I never did anything of it and right now i’m burn out..so your articel is really amazing..because everything what you have write is what i’m expiriencing RIGHT NOW.

    I want to make this dession to change the job and just go with flow and my soul drive but i’m still affraid a little because this Neptune transit makes also conjuction wih my progressive Sun who’s also changing the sign into pisces. To much of Neptune influence so, i ‘m really affarid of losing my identity completly??

    Sorry, for my bad English writing.

  11. Great article! I was hoping to find something more specific about my case. I have Natal Nept conj MC and T Nept right now squares N Nept and MC.
    I’m an Aqua rising.
    I have always knew what I wanted to do and be. No confusion there. Not sure what N Nept conj MC is about. Now that I’m 41 and reached the midlife squares yes I’m revising my plans and feeling thoroughly confused.
    How do I honor Neptune or how else do I get out of this fog?

  12. Donna, thanks very much for the response. Yes, major midlife crisis. Since T Nept also squares my IC (joy joy) this is the first big show-down in my life. Major disillusionment about family life (or lack thereof). The career thing? It just doesn’t work any longer. Can’t find a job for the love of God. The glocal recession adds to that of course. But does T Nept square MC (and later also my Sun also in the 10th-yikes) mean unemployment? I just have no clue where to look any more. I could just sit tight and sleep it off if the “home” environment wasn’t hostile and stressful. Where do I hide till then???

    • It doesn’t mean you’ll be unemployed the whole time, but it can mean that you won’t be doing what you’d love to do. Neptune transits to the career sectors are difficult–they’re not inherently a match. We just have to find other ways of making life meaningful and caring for ourselves. So sorry–it sounds grueling. Donna

  13. Hello Donna, I am glad I found your article about Neptune in career house. Nick of time. My Natal MC is in 0˚Pisces, and yes, the grand entrance of T Neptune to its own sign means it will be officially crossing my N MC and stays in 10th house for a long time to come. Since my N MC is in Pisces and it quincunx to N Sun in 1˚Leo, I ALWAYS have had the “Divine Discontent” about my career. I have both Chiron and Jupiter conjunct in Pisces/10th house, exactly trine N Neptune in Scorpio/5th house. I changed my job and my living place so many times (internationally), but this passage of Neptune MC/10th/Pisces would finally take me to go for the path of Art and Creativity? I am kind of looking forward to it. I’ve been working through the energy of Pluto and Uranus(and Saturn) for so many years, and maybe the chance has come for me to master the energy of Neptune—scares me a bit, since I am feeling I would leave my fairly well-paying job(but there is no soul level satisfaction)still carrying a large amount of debts. How does Neptune energy work for prosperity, on mundane level? Well, I guess I will find out—thank you very much for your article!

  14. Hello Donna, this was a very informative article for me, and I would like to get some more information, as I feel I am in for a long ride. Neptune entered my 10th house on 12/30/11 and won’t leave until 2026. Presently, I have transiting in my 10th house: the Sun, Mercury, Neptune, Chiron (I’m 52), and the Moon. Uranus just left and is 1 degree outside in the 11th. My life has been a struggle for the past 2 years between job responsibilities, remodeling the house and life.
    I feel the house remodelling and mundane work duties are sapping all my creative urges, leaving a void where they best could provide an outlet for frustrations, i.e., being a bit player with my 2nd-rate choices, with feelings of incompetence.
    I am a high school Teacher with 9 teaching certifications. Just finished my Principal Certification, as well, but feel as though, as Socrates wrote, “I know nothing of what really is!”
    The only planets I have above the horizon (asc/desc axis) are Saturn/7th, and the Moon in the 10th. My natal Neptune aspects are square the Sun, and quincunx to Mars, Saturn, and Pluto. (Mars is conjunct Pluto in my birth chart, same degree, 4 degree Virgo).
    Anyway, enough rambling, I guess you get the picture, wide, vast, and uncertain. Lucky for me, though, as I spent 5 of the past 7 years in post grad school getting a second Master’s in Education and the Principal Certification, but now that I am at the doorstep to a greater future, the feelings of incompetence and insecurity are sometimes overwhelming. Obviously, the fear of falling flat on my face keeps me in my present position. Meanwhile, I am tidying up my resume and paperwork because, “Ya never know what could come up.”
    I could sure use some advice on this Neptune transit. Looking back, major life changes happened to me when Neptune moved into my 7th house, almost as if I became a different person.
    Hope I didn’t bore you.
    On a side note, always wanted to be a photo realist artist of vintage motor racing. Meanwhile, I stare at the unfinished motorcycle painting in my room every day.

    • Sounds tough, James. Did you also see the post “Neptune’s in your Career House? It’s not a Transit, It’s an Epoch!” I’m retired from doing individual charts for several years now, but I can recall the hazy and seemingly endless era when it transited my 6th. I do think Neptune’s long trek through one of the career houses is is one of those inscrutable messages from the higher realms, and I don’t know that astrology can decipher it with any precision for anyone. Donna

  15. I dont know that I have ever acted in corelation to a calendar to the aspects of a planet or any other astrology alignment.
    To hope that the stars reveal for one or another might not be the best way to find a oppertunity still there by the time one gets there, when everyone has seen it so before another…
    tO BE READY BY 830PM for example chart below
    Is it just kind of a statistic or something more to take notes; this post topic has more comments than likes.
    In fact, I AM or I MADE, the only LIKE on this post.
    Its been a while since I have read this so my hopes are that what relates to me is written in the stars; that is again, a hope that this relationship is interpretable enough to see my aspects of the day share a highlight by the description to be tasteful , and in season here.

    Equanimity
    Weak, transient effect: Tonight you experience a time of inner and outer equanimity. You can stop and take stock of yourself without feeling completely caught up in the usual turmoil and rush of events. Even if your affairs are not going too smoothly, this influence will provide a breathing space. If you have been feeling harried, you now have at least a brief opportunity to take it easy. And if you are relaxed, you will feel even better now. Your relationships with groups and friends are quite good during this time. You are able to understand other people’s needs without losing sight of your own desires for fulfillment. Opportunities may arise from unexpected corners that will improve your life in small ways at least. In general you will benefit from being out in the world today and having as much contact with others as possible.
    Transit selected for today (by user):
    Moon sextile Sun, MoonSextileSun, exact at 22:03 more information
    activity period from 15 August 2013 until 16 August 2013
    [turn off]Show the love horoscope for this transit (L)
    Every Thursday (until revoked) there is free access to all transits listed below.
    Transit selected for today (by the computer):

    Sun conjunction Ascendant, exact at 11:07

    Other transits occurring today

    Venus sextile Mars, exact at 14:15 (L)
    Sun in 1st house, from 11:07 (L)
    Moon square Chiron, exact at 05:42 (L)
    Moon square Pluto, exact at 12:58 (L)
    Moon sextile Mercury, exact at 09:29 (L)
    Moon square Uranus, exact at 00:17 (L)
    Moon sextile Saturn, exact at 02:13 (L)

    Important long-term influences ????

    n


Leave a comment

Categories