Posted by: Donna Cunningham | November 21, 2009

Pluto-Saturn Preparedness Kit #3: How to Use these Energies Well

©11-20-2009 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

Do you have planets, the Sun, Moon, Ascendant or Midheaven in the early degrees of Aries, Cancer, Libra, or Capricorn? If so, you’re getting important transits from Pluto, Saturn, and ultimately Uranus this year and next. Does that sound tough? The best way to begin using the energies of  Pluto and Saturn to change your life for the better is to stop treating them like scary old bogeymen. Here’s how.

  • Stop blaming Pluto and Saturn for the mess we’re in.
  • Pluto and Saturn aren’t out to get us.
  • Pluto and Saturn haven’t done anything to us.
  • We’ve done it to ourselves.
  • Pluto and Saturn are here to help us fix it. Whatever IT is.

 It WON’T go away. Fixing it won’t be pretty. It won’t be easy. You have to do something NOW, but you don’t have to do it alone. Just know that at the end of the day, your work will have put things right…more right than they’ve been in a good, long while.

The process is kind of like major surgery—not the elective type to correct something that’s a bit off. It’s a boob job. And I don’t mean the cosmetic variety to give yourself a better chest. It’s the kind you need when you’ve been a real boob in some area of your life. The kind of surgery that’s no fun to go through, but when it’s all over and you’ve healed, you feel healthier than you have in years. Then you kick yourself for putting it off so long.

 How to Use Pluto’s Energies:

Get out that B.S. detector that’s gathering dust in a closet.

Dust it off. Plug it in.

Turn it on.Skywriter  by Donna Cunningham

Focus it on that pickle you’re in. You know the one.

Use the zoom lens to look at the situation fearlessly.

What’s really going on under the surface?

Who’s fooling you?  What do they gain from it?

How are you fooling yourself and others?  What do you gain from it?

How have you surrendered your power and why did you let it happen?

What’s the big secret you’re hiding about it?  

Tell the truth about it. Tell yourself. Tell others, if it’s any of their business. 

Stop listening to words. Listen only to actions. The truth is in the actions.

Face the fact that it’s got to change. That YOU’VE got to change.

Grieve if you need to. Do it as long as it takes, but take action, too.

Get help or healing if you can’t do make the change alone.

Put Saturn on speed dial. You’re going to need him.

Supportive Aspects from Pluto:  If you have chart placements in the first 5° of the earth signs Virgo or Taurus, you’re receiving a helpful 120° aspect called a trine from Pluto in Capricorn.  Because of the earth element in your chart, you most likely have a solid, much-needed set of skills, a good work ethic, and a sensible, down-to-earth approach that will stand you in good stead now. You’re still likely to undergo some deep changes that will require you to get that B.S. detector up and working, but with more support and an easier transition. There are likely to be good opportunities for progress on a material level as well. Your past track record may position you to make the most of current conditions.  After all, some people prosper, even in an economic downturn.

How to use Saturn’s Energies:Skywriter  by Donna Cunningham

Go get a jumbo-sized jar of elbow grease at Home Depot.

While you’re there, buttonhole one of their people for tips.

Survey the damage clear-headedly to see how bad it really is.

Get second opinion from somebody who knows what they’re doing.

Research the internet or fixit manuals for how to do it.

Hire a contractor if you’re over your head on this thing.

DSkywriter  by Donna Cunninghamraw up a tentative set of plans based on what you’ve learned.

Get second opinion from somebody who knows what they’re doing.

At every step of the way, measure twice, cut once.

Have someone who knows what they’re doing check your work.

Take the time to do it right.

Build for life, not a retaining wall.

Supportive Aspects from Saturn:  If you have chart placements in the first 5° of the air signs Gemini or Aquarius, you’re receiving a helpful 120° aspect called a trine from Saturn in Libra.  The air element in your chart is likely to mean that you have good communication and people skills that will stand you in good stead during this stressful period when your connection with others is paramount. You may be one of those people who can adapt easily to new ideas and technologies, or maybe you just know how to make new friends and keep in touch with old ones. If so, those relationships can provide you with support, good will, and an inside track on ways to make the most of this period. 

Some Notes about the Language of this Post:  I ran the grammar checker on this piece.  There’s not one single sentence in the passive voice.  What that says is that this piece is all about doing rather than being done to.  That’s really fitting because right now the last thing we can afford is passivity. The reading level is 3rd grade, and right now we NEED simple.

What’s with all the metaphors?” you’re probably wondering. I dunno. This is an archetype-free zone.  The carpentry images I can undPluto-Saturn Preparedness Kit by Donna Cunninghamerstand–my father and grandfather built houses.  If I start spouting sports metaphors, though, you’ll know that something has gone very, very wrong. Call in an exorcist.

Metaphors are  just how the information is coming to me. Don’t stop to figure out which symbol stands for what; just listen with your inner wisdom. At some level, you know exactly what it means.  

More Posts for your Pluto-Saturn Preparedness Kit:

 Related Posts for Using this Transit to Change Unwanted Patterns:

 If this post was helpful, DON’T MISS THE NEXT INSTALLMENT IN THIS SERIES.  Sign up for a subscription, and get a FREE EBOOKLET for Skywriter Subscribers Only: Mothers, Daughters, and the Moon, a 50-page excerpt from The Moon in your Life. Read more about it here: NEW: FREE BOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS! 

  If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post with a request for the booklet in the subject line.


Responses

  1. My moon is in early Libra and I really am getting a breast reduction! The transits are perfectly appropriate for this and your reference to it made my day.

    • How odd–well, I hope that’s a good thing and that you like the results. Donna

  2. Believe it or not, I’m excited. It just so happens that my natal Saturn is in 8 degrees Taurus, 3 degrees shy of Pluto in Virgo. And my natal Jupiter/Uranus conjunction is in the first degrees of Libra, so yeah, I’m feeling optimistic about these changes. I’ve already had so much destruction and chaos in my life that I’m not too scared. Of course, I’m wondering if that’s not me seeing everything through rose-colored lenses…

    • Trines work if you work them, Eme, so by al means, figure out ways to capitalize on the promise of those transits. Donna

  3. Fabulous post, Donna!

  4. I am so happy because I do not have Sun, Moon, Ascendant or Midheaven in the early degrees of Aries, Cancer, Libra, or Capricorn. WAHOO!

    sorry. I will try to contain myself in the future. but I have been following this series carefully (i’m one of the ones that has read every single word of it) and I’m happy to be excluded from the hotspot just this once.🙂 Happy Sagittarius Sun to you!

  5. I am always on the lookout for a planet or an aspect to blame.😉

    I have just found your blog. I will be back and read everything there is.

  6. Per Donna’s OK, I’d like to point out that she has added a link to a chat room I started called Planet Earth Gets Real. I’d like to invite everyone to join in.
    http://chatroll.com/planet-earth-gets-real

    Trishia

  7. Hi Donna,

    How absolutely wonderful to find you. I discovered your site last night and spent hours reading well into the early morning. I can’t believe I haven’t stumbled across you before, after reading every possible astrology page on the web since 1997!

    Your work is phenomenal, and I’m off to order Healing Pluto Problems NOW.

    I also posted about you immediately on Twitter, and have listed links to your site and pages in my weekly podcast and on my Facebook page as well. I’m adding you to my list of Favorites, along with the quieter Lance Ferguson of SkywatchAstrology.com, and I look forward to enjoying your writings well into the future.

    Wow. THANK you for your prolific and engaging writings. You rock.

    Heather
    Twitter: itsplanetary

    • Thanks, Heather, glad you found Skywriter and that there was so much you wanted to read here. Thanks for sharing it in all those places as well. Donna Cunningham

  8. Hi Donna I hear you are going to answer my question in dell magazine in May. Is there a way I can get and pay for this magazine other than send a cheque as I am in Harrow in England. I am very interested in what you have to say in answer to my question. Evelynn

  9. Hi Donna,

    It’s nice to finally be able to post a positive comment on a transit!

    Currently, transiting Pluto is forming a trine to my natal Pluto in the 12th, a sextile to my 2nd & 3rd house Jupiter/Mercury/Neptune conjunction in Scorpio, while at the same time, transiting Saturn is forming a trine to my 9th house retrograde Mars and is almost trining my 5th house Moon (at 6 degrees Aquarius).

    Pluto has been transiting my 4th house for many years now, house cleaning from bottom to top, helping me to pay off some major Karmic debts (having to do with my natal 4th house Saturn). So I’ve become very accustomed to the more demanding Pluto/Saturn energies and in retrospect have even come to appreciate the hidden treasures these transits can reveal when we do the work of clearing out, cleaning up, and paring down.

    For the first time in my life, I’m starting to feel comfortable knowing what I know and speaking up about it (when appropriate) and without needing a whole lot of external validation. Without realizing it, it’s probably been the reason I’ve started commenting on many of the astrological sites. I’ve always picked up on hidden energies as well as hidden truths, and for the most part have been fairly assertive about expressing myself. But what feels different now, is that I know what I know, without all of the internal angst I used to feel as I struggled to convince others of what I knew to be true. It feels like I’ve let go of some illusion about the world and it’s very empowering. I plan to make the most of these transits, by inviting this awareness to become a more permanent part of my being.

    I’ve said it before, but I really do appreciate your blog and the knowledge you share; it helps me to make sense of the energies I’m feeling. Thanks again.

  10. I just posted this in a related thread, but since it’s relevant here too and that other thread hasn’t been commented on in a few months, I thought I’d put it here too…

    Nancy Pelosi (3/26/1940) has an exact natal Pluto-Saturn square (respectively, 0 Leo and 0 Taurus), AND her Sun at 5 Aries is getting whacked by the current Pluto-Saturn square. And look what she just achieved–against astonishing odds she got the health care bill passed, the greatest triumph of her career and quite possibly the greatest triumph of her life.

    She’s the one who “rallied the troops,” as they say. She got it all organized; she convinced Obama not to break the bill into smaller initiatives but to stay the course, and she waited to schedule a vote until she was sure she had enough votes to get it done. An AMAZING example of Saturn-Pluto dogged determination, and of Plutonian transformation of Saturnian structures that weren’t working anymore. She really took the time to do it right!

  11. PS President Obama is also affected by the transit: he has Venus, ruler of his 4th and 8th houses, at 2 Cancer. And Pluto rules his Midheaven. And Saturn rules (and is located in) his 12th–health care!

  12. Yeah…Saturn transit was on my 12 house Neptune ,Chiron, Jupiter conjunction , square transit Pluto in my 3rd house or transportation. This spring in April during the Gulf Oil spill my car died. I have been held hostage in this small town since then and all travel plans canceled for the summer.At least it wasn’t as bad as what happened to a friend who broke both her ankles at the same time.
    I finally got another car for free, but each time I make a repair another defect crops up. I was feeling too guilty about even looking for a car after that Gulf Oil spill and looking at the destruction to our environment from oil and plastics. Unbelievable what is being done to our beautiful satellite EARTH.
    One could do magic running but this materialistic society negates that. Oh well the fools have no idea what their missing. No oil or bills to pay.
    Looking forward to Saturn transiting onto my ascendant and its sextile to natal Pluto and later Grand Air Tine. Fun time should take form.
    Hey that Uranus / Jupiter mix moving into Aries will bring some Earth changes for sure and may be even some big time fun with close parteners!

  13. This particular post on pluto’s energies is a real gem. Straight to the point.


Leave a Reply

Categories

