Posted by: Donna Cunningham | November 8, 2009

In a Crisis? Rescue Remedy Can Help You through It

Rescue Remedy is a safe, inexpensive combination of 5 flower remedies that helps people stay calm while dealing with an emergency. (Flower remedies are also known as essences, but are not the same as aromatherapy.) If you’re not familiar with the essences, download the introductory chapter from my essence book  at flower essence information-ch1 and read the instructions for how to use them. 

Rescue Remedy has been clinically tested in England for over 80 years and is even listed in the USDA Pharmacopeia of accepted medications.  It is widely available in most health food stores, new age bookstores, and even in one national drugstore chain. It is not a sedative, so you remain clear-headed while coping with the situation.  This article was printed in Vibration Magazine, and the author has given me permission to reprint it here. Here’s her story:

(Author’s name withheld by request)

Rescue Remedy--an emergency formulaI use Rescue Remedy all the time — either the traditional Bach Remedy or the Healing Herbs version called Five Flower Remedy. I sometimes think that if I were limited to just one remedy, then Rescue would be the only one I’d ever need.

I carry it in my bag wherever I go, because I never know when I or someone I meet up with will need it. I often have to take it while shopping, since big stores with their crowds, endless choices, and overload of stimuli leave me spaced out and exhausted.

I also rely on it for occasional insomnia, when some upsetting event during the day keeps me tossing and turning until the early morning hours. Its applications are endless, but I generally only need a few doses mixed into a sports bottle of water that I sip over the course of a few hours. I can’t recall a time before now that I ever needed it for more than just one day.

Incidentally, if you have an intolerance to alcohol, you might like the newest wrinkle in Rescue Remedy–a tin of European style pastilles in the shape and taste of black current.  A friend who wanted to cheer me up gave me one as  a wee giftie, and they’re easy to carry in your purse or pocket.  The only trouble is that every time I go out, I’m tempted to have just a slight crisis so I can have one of them!

A time came recently when I was in a huge financial crisis, so bad I was afraid I couldn’t pay my rent. In all my fifty years — though times have often been tough — rent has been a priority. My home is my source of security, so I had only once in all that time been two weeks late with the rent. This time, however, it looked like I might not be able to pay the rent at all.

Not only that, but I have no health insurance, and I was facing overwhelming medical expenses for my family. I was terrified, and the state of panic was making it hard to function. I would wake up in the early morning hours, frightened and depressed, and the next day would be too wiped out to work effectively.

Naturally, the water container came out, and it was a fixture at my bedside table and on my desk at work. I was sipping Rescue Remedy day and night for several days, and it would calm me down enough that I could function.rescuepastilles

On about the fourth day, however, something came up that amazed me. Rescue Remedy is a combination of five Bach remedies. One of the ingredients is Star of Bethlehem, a Bach Remedy for healing old shocks and traumas. The reason it is included, I would guess, is that similar traumas from the past tend to get stirred up again in times of crisis.

Apparently that is what was happening to me, for not being able to pay the rent brought up a series of childhood events that I had blocked from memory. My family was very poor, and we moved often when my parents were laid off or broke. We never got evicted, exactly; we just left before it could get to that point.  After a while, times would get better and my folks would get jobs, and so we could move to a place of our own until the next lay-off.

There were lots of other problems in my family, some pretty traumatic, and so the fact that we had moved so often never struck me as one of the major wounds of my childhood. The only way I recognized it as a problem now was that, besides my terror, I was walking around with a sick sense of shame twisting in my gut.

I went to work on that discomforting feeling with Reiki, and by imagining lavendar light spinning through my solar plexus. I even rubbed Rescue Remedy straight from the bottle on that area.

After a few such sessions, the shame that I felt as a child at our poverty and at having to move time after time came up. I saw, for the first time, that the repeated uprooting was a pretty serious trauma in my young life, and that this was the reason my home was so crucial to me. I continued to sip Rescue Remedy in water for several more days, and the panic subsided enough for me to be able to cope with the emergency. I do believe as well that this sustained use of Rescue Remedy did a deeper level healing at the same time, relieving these scars of unsuspected childhood wounds.

I wanted to share my story with your readers, because the current economic crisis has resulted in serious problems for so many people.  Rescue Remedy is safe, inexpensive, natural, and has a track record of helping people get through The Great Depression, World War II, and a host of other severe emergencies arond the globe in the time since it was created by Dr. Edward Bach in the 1930s.  And, yes, we’re facing another emergency now, and this gentle,  faithful friend is once more here to support us through it.

Note: The Bach Centre has a free ebook to download at: http://www.bachcentre.com/centre/download/healers.pdf

Donna says:   For those of you who aren’t familiar with them, I’ve uploaded the introductory chapter of my ebook about essencebkcvrsmessences, Flower Remedies—How Plants’ Energies Can Heal Us here: flower essence information-ch1.  The ebook itself—which includes a chapter about using these essences in astrological practice—is available at  this link: moonmavenpublications.com.. You’ll find flower essences mentioned often in the articles on this blog because they’re a potent healer that can help us get through this crisis.

WANT PHOTOGRAPHIC PROOF THAT THE ESSENCES WORK?  See http://www.floweressencemagazine.com/blog/?p=979   by Deborah Bier, PhD These photos of an experiment conducted by Deborah and her students were lost for several years. They show clearly the positive effect an essence mixture has on germinating and growing plants. These photos have never been published anywhere before!

As regular readers know, I’m also co-editor for Vibration, the free educational journal and blog for flower essences/aka remedies. For a wealth of articles and information about flower essences, visit Vibration Magazine’s blog at http://www.floweressencemagazine.com/blog.  

More articles on Essences and other healing tools on this blog:

FREE EBOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS ONLY: Mothers, Daughters, and the Moon, a 50-page excerpt from The Moon in your Life. Read more about it here: NEW: FREE BOOKLET FOR SKYWRITER SUBSCRIBERS!  If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post with a request for the booklet in the subject line.


Responses

  1. The cliche says’ Misery loves company.’ I don’t think that is my situation, but it’s more of a wake up call as I am truly realizing, consciously, more and more just in the past week or so from ‘things’ that keep coming my way that I was NOT the only child who moved every year (or more), I was NOT the only child who was raised ‘dirt’ poor (3 dresses to wear to school, washing out my dad’s mechanic uniforms by hand in the bath tub), that I was NOT the only kid who had their childhood and innocence stolen from them, etc. etc. Thanks so much to the author for letting you reprint this story, Donna. I’m after some Bach Remedy now:)

  2. Donna, Me again. Am I overlooking it…do you recommend a specific source to buy flower essences. I want to make sure I’m getting a quality product. I went to the Vibrations web site but I can’t tell the difference between which ad items Google intersperses and which, if any, Vibration is actually endorsing.
    Thanks,
    Trishia

    • Thanks for7your comments, Trish, very moving. The Rescue from the health food store is fine. The best source of “Bach” remedies is The Flower Essence Society in Nevada City California, the market them as Healing Herbs. Their own remedies, to me are the best of the new remedies developed after Bach.

  3. I carry Rescue Remedy with me at all times. Whether it is be for someone else, or for my dog who is terrified of thunder, or for moi. It’s a real blessing during these stressful times.

    Molly

  4. What a wonderful story! Even though I don’t use it that often, it’s been so valuable in emergency situations (like when I sprained my ankle during a vacation trip) that I like to keep it around. It hadn’t occurred to me that in addition to supplying calm and getting the healing process jump-started in an emergency, it could also promote a deeper level of healing.

    • Yes, I was surprised that RR had a deeper level healing as well, but there are two ingredients in the combination that might especially promote it: Star of Bethlehem goes to heal past traumas and the tendency to be in a sense frozen in reaction to the things that happened. Clematis is for that spaced out quality that might have developed in response to trauma, thereby making it harder to stay in the present and take effective. Donna

      • Dearest Donna,
        What a wonderful artical. It was like listening to my own childhood. You just helped me (figure it out). Thank you so much!!!!
        I am now going through the most horrific financial problem at present. There have been days I thought we would starve this past month. I was hungry and cold when I was child. We were so poor. I swore I would never be neither again. I can’t afford the Rescue Remedy at present but hopefully soon. We have had a very difficult three years.
        Thank you so very much for your story.
        Blessings and love to you and all whom are going through difficult times at the moment.

      • So sorry for what you are going through, Deborah. Since you can’t afford Rescue Remedy, I will tell you something that may sound really strange, but it is accepted practice among certain flower essence makers and practitioners. How essences work is that the preparations incorporate the energy field of the flower. And anyone at all can access their strength by attuning to the plant. Plants have guardian angels of their own, called devas.

        If there are any flowers any where near you, look up their properties either on Vibration Magazine’s search engine or Google under essences, and then meditate on the plant calling for it’s help. And/or, find a really good, large picture of a plant or flower under Google images and put it up on the opening screen of your computer to look at often and tune into.

        One remedy that sounds like it would help you is Oak. It’s for brave people who have had a long, hard struggle and now are worn down by it. Go to a park with your children and find a big, beautiful old oak tree to sit under for an hour or so. Ask it to give you strength, and you should feel it.

        Rock Rose is one of the fllowers that is part of Rescue Remedy–it’s for panic. And beautiful Star of Bethlehem is another. It’s to release the tension we hold in our bodies and energy fields from old shocks and traumas.

        Have an open mind, and give this a try. If nothing else, it will help take your mind off your worries; optimally, you’ll find some new friends and allies among the plant spirits. Donna

  5. I’m mostly fire (6), with water coming in 2nd in its abundance (5), that’s followed by 1 air and 1 earth.

    So I feel fall into being action oriented and empathetic. Are you going to write about any action items to take, in conjunction to taking these remedies, for this hard Saturn/Pluto aspect.

    It’s activating my Natal Pluto/3h sqr Saturn/6h placement. and I need to find changes I can ‘make’ to go along with the help & healing the remedies I ‘take’ offer.

    • HI, ej, we haven’t connected in a while. The first three articles in this series (Preparedness Kit, parts 1, 2, 3) are meant to help people assess what areas of life need attention and to set specific goals for those areas, but readers need to come up with actions that fit their own particular transits and the situations they represent.

      It’s individual, not something for me to suggest since I don’t have a picture of what issues are arising in an individual’s life. (In one-on-one sessions, I would have had a better idea what actions might be most useful, but I’m retired from doing consultations.) The actions would doubtlessly arise from pressing needs related to the two houses where Saturn and Pluto are transiting. For you, they might be related to 3rd and/or 6th house issues, especially as there’s a Pluto-Saturn square there natally. We’ll see what else develops as the series unfolds.

  6. Thank you so much Donna. Great words you have sent. (OAK) is my Family Crest.
    Funny how things in life can go. When we moved here we paid off our house, car, etc. and thought we were safe. It has been difficult three years and as one thing led to another. Events, no excess. Here we are. We will get past it. But this is a difficult one.
    Be safe and may blessings.
    Kindest Regards,
    Deborah


Leave a comment

Categories