Posted by: Donna Cunningham | June 5, 2010

5 Pitfalls and 5 Perks of a Powerful Pluto

©6-5-2010 by Donna Cunningham, MSW

Have you taken The Test?  Since the test to measure the strength of your Pluto was published here on January 16th, 2010, more than 20,000 Readers have taken it.  The article featuring the test is by far the top post of all time on Skywriter.

It also has the highest number of comments—182. And we’re not talking about quotes like “Awesome!” or “Check out my score!”  We’re talking about deep, personal sharing.  A Pluto party, unless that’s an oxymoron.  (Clue: to a Plutonian, it’s not!  We were having the time of our lives the weekend it was published.)

By contrast, only 2266 have taken the Saturn test—not even half that number. I guess Pluto is way sexier than Saturn. From the comments, it’s not clear whether people are proud of their Pluto scores or worried about them.  Probably both. 

Would you be considered a Plutonian person?  You would if Pluto, the sign Scorpio, and the 8th house are strong in your birth chart.

While there aren’t any scientific measurements of a planet’s strength, I’ve assigned number scores to certain chart factors, based on 40 years of doing charts professionally. The test gives these chart features a score and then describes what that score says about you.

Are you a PlutoPalooza?  Is your test score 50, 60, or more?  Then you have a powerful Pluto indeed. A PlutoPalooza can bench press 3 Venusians and not break a sweat.  Here are some of the pitfalls and some of the perks of a powerful Pluto.

5 Pitfalls of a Powerful Pluto:

  1. Pessimism/cynicism
  2. Possessiveness
  3. Paranoia at times
  4. Power hunger
  5. Punitiveness/getting even

5 Perks of a Powerful Pluto:

  1. Presence/pizzazz
  2. Perseverance
  3. Penetrating psychological perceptions
  4. Political savvy
  5. Passion that just won’t quit

With plenty of Plusses and a plethora of Minuses, life would be the poorer without our Plutonian powerhouses!

 Mind Your Ps—Nevermind the Qs

Are you wondering what the letter P means and why I chose all the P words in this post? I didn’t choose the letter knowingly, I just got on a roll, but afterwards I looked it up in some numerology sites and it fit perfectly with the message.  Here’s the consensus:

Numberquest.com’s Letter Meanings notes, “P is the numerical equivalent of 16/7 and represents power. It carries with it a commanding influence and possesses much knowledge. When it is the first consonant in a name the bearer is likely to think of spiritual matters. Negatively, P can be totally self absorbed with little time to empathize with the concerns of others.”

 Affinity Numerology  lists the positive qualities as shrewd, thoughtful, expressive, influential, knowledgeable, and spiritual. Echoing Numberquest, it lists the negative potential as self-absorption.

Plutopaloozas and other readers, tell us more about what taking the test did for you.  Did it affirm something you’d always felt about yourself?  Or did it give you a whole new bunch of stuff to keep that eagle eye of yours on?  Scroll down beyond this article and use the comment section.

Popular  Pluto Posts: 

And from the 17 articles on Pluto’s place in the Cardinal T-Square by many different authors: The Top 5 Articles on Pluto Transits from the Blogathon Collection.

free astrology booklet by Donna CunninghamDownload an 11-page index by subject to Skywriter’s 325 articles here, with links that will take you to each one directly: Skywriter-Articles Index 6-1-2010.

If this post was helpful, sign up for a subscription, and get a FREE EBOOKLET for Skywriter Subscribers Only: Mothers, Daughters, and the Moon, a 50-page excerpt from The Moon in your Life. Read more about it here: New: Free Booklet For Skywriter Subscribers!

If you’re already a subscriber and want a copy, forward the most recent email post to me at moonmave@spiritone.com. To sign up for a subscription, go to the top right hand corner of the blog and click on “Subscribe.”  Then send me an email with your subscription confirmation or an email post with a request for the booklet in the subject line.


Responses

  1. I scored high (38) for both Uranus and Pluto. I would love to see an article about that combination.

    • Hi, Mary, well if you belong to the generation of the 1960s with Pluto and Uranus conjunct, there are a couple of articles that touch on it. One is about the vocational struggles of the Pluto-Uranus generation (under the category “Vocational Astrology”) and there are 2 or 3 articles about Johnny Depp, born with a Pluto-Uranus-Mars conjunction. Donna

  2. Hi Donna:
    Your blog topic today caught my interest – plutonians certainly are a fascinating group.Your number of hits correlates with the idea of self-absorption.

    What I see in plutonians is a fixation on transforming someone or something. It doesn’t seem to matter if you don’t want to, aren’t interested in changing. That intense plutonian you just met yesterday is going to rearrange your life – with or without your help. No polite refusals will divert them from their mission. Next thing you know, you’re running for your life, changing your phone number, not answering the door hoping they’ll tire of it and move on. But, no, you have become their new obsession. They seldom run out of ideas on how to improve you. Most of the ideas you won’t like.
    If only they had labels that said, run little aries, run away fast.
    Pizzazz and politics indeed.
    Oh, my pluto score: 26.

  3. Fixation? Who me??? (You betcha!)

    I scored 53 big Plutonian Points….and I have nothing at all to do with politics.. But everything else is a’ bingo, you got me.’

    Pluto is a tough taskmaster. The only way to go is to love and accept your Plutonian self. At some point I started being amused by myself. Will always have the ups and downs and the paranoia….but it is familiar.

    We are all lucky that there hasn’t been a discovery of any other planet beyond Pluto.

    I cant even imagine……

    Hope you are well, Donna,
    Molly K.

    • Ah, so you’re a PlutoPalooza are you, Molly! When I say political savvy, it’s not just about elections–there are politics aplenty in the workplace too. And even (shudder) politics in the field of astrology. Donna

      • Once three or more are gathered, there are politics. Learned this growing up in a family of 7 children and in every working situation since:)

  4. Hi Donna, I took all of the tests to see which I scored high in. I scored 27 with Pluto and can relate with a few of the qualities above. I have a hard time letting things go and I thought that might be a pluto quality thing. I’m not a vengeful person, but have a hard time forgetting. I don’t take vengeful action myself but tend to feel better when something happens to them to set them back, if that makes any sense, like a karma thing. Are those pluto feelings? Very low saturn score for me, 6, and I can see that in my life. Fairly low uranus 15 and higher neptune at 32. I’ve always felt very comfortable living in my own head🙂 Using Astrodienst chart for my calculations.

    • Hmm, Cathie, they are Pluto to a certain extent, but I also see them in Cancerian people who are easily wounded and can carry a slight or hurt for a long time. There’s nothing like a Cancerian for carrying on a family feud until all the offending parties are dead. Donna (Cancerian)

  5. With Pluto in Leo conjunct my Asc and South Node, involved in a Grand Trine with Mercury and MC, opposing my Venus/Mars conjunction, sextile my Saturn/Neptune conjunction, with a quintile and inconjunction or two thrown in, I always assumed my Pluto ruled. I not only have that unmistakeable lionlike appearance but am known for my work through Plutonian processes.

    After taking your 4 outer planets test, I was stunned to discover Neptune in a whopping lead of 53, Saturn 49 (huh?), Uranus 42 and Pluto only 39! Here I thought I knew my chart inside and out, but I’d never applied points like this before. What a Neptunian surprise. Thanks for the insights.

  6. My Pluto score is 52, my Saturn score is 50, my Jupiter score is 45, my Neptune score is 30, and my Uranus score is 19. You could say I’m intense,…

    …but not in all ways. My outer planets do not make many aspects to my inner planets. Mercury, Venus, and Mars lie in a somewhat separate groove, aspecting themselves. Any ideas about what this pattern may signify?

    • Interesting pattern, Terry. I don’t know as I’ve run across it before. I’d have to see the chart to understand why the outer planet scores are that high–outer planets on the Angles, perhaps? Or to Sun and Moon, which you don’t mention? (Don’t give me the birth data–I was just speaking hypothetically!! I don’t interpret individual charts here, as I’m retired.) A mixed blessing, as inner planet aspects give you something to the with the 0uter planets, but on the other hand, here the outer planets don’t take over and run the show. Donna

      • Yes, Donna, my outer planets aspect the Asc and the MC. My Sun does aspect some outer planets, while my Moon lies semisquared between some outer planets.

        Here’s how I think I live this dream: I’ve been pretty fancy free to do as I like personally, while ruminating a lot on societal and psychological matters about which I do little!

      • I do think that some of what I call Outer Planet People (ie with more than one of the outer planets emphasized) opt out of the mainstream and spend a life of contemplating and exploring the outer planets. Of course, it’s generally not terribly rewarding in material terms, but we’re not about material possessions usually. Donna

  7. Pluto Test score – 62
    🤔 Wasn’t too sure which planet was more influential, whether my stellium with strong Neptune, or my Pluto. Now I wish I’d stopped at “listen carefully” on a brighter note I now have something else to “be grateful” for this time round 👍😜😝


Leave a Reply

Categories

